We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Malaysian”
Review of Kampung Kitchen

Kampung Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Tanunda
Price range: AU$8 - AU$17
Description: Serving delicious, authentic Malaysian cuisine. Open for lunch and dinner, also serving coffee.
Restaurant details
Description: Serving delicious, authentic Malaysian cuisine. Open for lunch and dinner, also serving coffee.
Reviewed 27 August 2022 via mobile

Greeted by a friendly enthusiastic owner/chef who is passionate about Malaysian food.
For starters we had curry puffs which came piping hot and stuffed with a delightful spiced potato filling and chicken satay. The satay was beautifully marinated, chargrilled and served with a house made peanut sauce full of spice and flavour - light years away from the dried out sad chicken sticks served with barely disguised peanut butter I’ve had in other establishments. For mains there was a duck curry and Sambal beef with spruce and roti. The curry was a duck leg bathed in a rich, dark sauce with a nice complexity. The Sambal was my highlight of the night. Tender strips of beef simmered in a tomato and chilli sauce with the added funk of belachan, so often missing when I have ordered it at other restaurants. The roti was crisp and light and perfect for dipping into the curry. A small bowl of ground fresh chilli was provided for those that like extra heat.
All this for $39 inclusive of 2 soft drinks. No alcohol is served. Unsurpassed value and highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2022
3  Thank 904kenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2022 via mobile

Came down for dinner tonite as we saw some good reviews on trip advisor, restaurant itself is pretty rough, order at the counter grab your drinks from the fridge kind of vibe, but the food is fabulous! We had a beef sambal, chicken satay and a laksa, the sambal was delicious, flavoursome and not greasy at all, the satay skewers were really soft, Smokey and super authentic, the chef is hilarious and served our dishes coming out to ask what level of spice we wanted and he absolutely nailed it!! Laksa was rich and delicious -
Amazing value a starter ,two mains and two soft drinks came to about $50 - super authentic food at a very reasonable price

Date of visit: August 2022
1  Thank kjot-cooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2022 via mobile

Chicken curry made from chicken scraps. Just terrible the prices aren't what they seem. Old menus and old prices

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank A9765LOjaneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2022 via mobile

Never got to eat, we’d brought our own alcohol and were provided glasses by the serving staff then the owner came out and seemed to lose it. We had to leave without ordering. Found it strange for someone to run a restaurant in the Barossa Valley and then be anti alcohol. I appreciate the religious differences that may exist but I wasn’t forcing beliefs or customs on anyone. Just trying to enjoy a meal with a glass of wine.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2022

The Malay chicken curry was exceptional. A lovely flavour and lots of chicken, however the Laksa was too rich for us, and really needed more variety of seafood. Prices were good. Certainly worth a visit. Can sit in or take out.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank barb917
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kampung Kitchen also viewed

Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Kampung Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.