We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great place to stay rare find”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen diner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen diner
Marilyn Monroe Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Kitchen diner
Marilyn Monroe Main Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Hydrotherapy Spa Bath
lounge area
Lounge/diner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nuriootpa, Barossa Valley, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rick S
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place to stay rare find”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

does not look like much on the outside but wait until you get inside such a rare find and great hosts even find the time to have a drink with you
would recommend this place to anyone its awesome you can see why there are no bad reviews

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: old 50s style
Liked least: nothing exelent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Hi Rick & Rhonda, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was great to meet up with you and have a chat over a few drinks. Look forward to your return.
Regards
Jannine & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soldierbl...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The Old Garage is brilliant and utterly distinctive.”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Old Garage is not merely a bed and breakfast. Instead, it is an experience. Mark and Jannine have created something quietly powerful and consistently surprising. They have pulled off an ambitious project; to evoke a significant historical period through authentic pieces such as the American Diner, and a plethora of deftly selected details. From the outside it looks like an Australian shed. But, the interior overflows with vitality, sound and colour. It is packed with personal, physical and luxurious details that evoke the 1950s/60s with startling immediacy.

Their recreation of the period is extraordinarily vivid and imaginative, and the ambiance is so gripping that we put our lives on hold to simply enjoy the accommodation. The whole draws one in with hallucinatory power to a more glamorous and innocent time and the sentiment and impression remain long after departure. If you enjoy retro chic, you’ll love the Old Garage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Liked least: not enough time spent to enjoy the luxury spa bath ... next time we will book longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2016
Thank you Steve and Christine, we are so pleased that you enjoyed "The Experience" and have taken the time to write your outstanding review. Our aim is we are glad you did!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeetTheEd...
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“5 star rating still isn't enough - cannot fault”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had an absolutely fantastic stay and literally could not fault a thing.

The accommodation itself is kept unbelievably well, we thought it was only 6 months old, only to find out it was 3 years!! Everything was so clean and tidy, you can see the love and care that has gone into it. Everything has been thought of and we were so impressed with all the provisions we were left with for breakfast.

Jannine and Mark were absolutely fantastic. We were made to feel so welcome and we had Mark take us out on a wine tasting tour for the day around the Barossa. He handpicked each of the wineries to suit us and he couldn't have picked better.

I am reluctant to say too much about the detail, as the surprise is what made it such a great stay for us, but what I will say is we had the most fantastic stay and haven't stopped talking about it since. We HIGHLY recommend and hope to visit again :) A HUGE thumbs up!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
It was great meting with you all... Mark had a fabulous day showing you around some of the wineries in the Barossa. Look forward to your return.
Regards
Jannine & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raffles12...
Gympie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
614 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Unique, luxury ?, a gross understatement, it's a WOW !”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

? to TA, why is this place hidden away under Holiday Rentals ?? Took me several attempts to locate it.
So, upon arrival you walk back in time to the 50's/60's, but, with all mod cons & free, fast wifi, Foxtel etc . Conveniently located in wine country nothing is far away. Really well thought out & cannot be improved upon. Wheelchair friendly. Additionally, there is an old record player, complete with a selection of 45's & LP's, your very own pinball machine (take plenty of 20c coins), a coffee machine, an old CocaCola machine and a working breathalyser machine, very useful in the Barossa. Outside there were two BBQ's, table & chairs.The fridge was full of goodies & a decanter was full of port! A welcome card invited us for drinks at 5pm with mein hosts Jannine & Mark, in the adjoining "shed" which was chock full of automotive memorabilia. Nothing is too much trouble & we spent a day with Mark visiting small wineries (Barossa Cruisin) & he chauffeured us to/from Vintners so we could all enjoy some wine with dinner. The only place to stay in the Barossa, we shall return ! He will also pick you up from ADL if you are flying in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was great to meet Arthur, Beth & Sarah. We hope to catch up with you when we are in your ""neck of the woods"". Cheers Jannine & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterVal...
Pokolbin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend - a fantastic place to stay!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A huge thank you to Jannine and Mark for making our stay in the Barossa perfect! My husband and I were looking for accommodation that was quite central and self contained with off street parking. When we came across Barossa Old Garage BnB it was exactly what we were looking for. We are very much into the '50's & 60's owning classic Cadillacs of this era and in fact in Adelaide to pick up another to add to our collection so this accommodation fitted perfectly. It was great to meet Jannine and Mark and have a few drinks and nibblies with them and it was then that we decided to extend our stay for another night and go on a wine tour with them which was a lot of fun. The time, effort and love that they have put into their accommodation shines through. If you're planning on staying in the area do yourself a favour and stay with them, you won't regret it!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Great meeting with you Debbie & Dave. We are so pleased that you had peace of mind that we offer off street parking for your caddy.
Cheers
Jannine & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 204
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing