We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Emma E
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

Modest and beautiful place to stay and drink amazing wine!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 June 2015
I stayed here with my partner for one night as a surprise birthday present. We were just looking for somewhere affordable for the night and the Kaesler cottage was so much more. The room had a cozy and warm feeling with beautiful vintage touches. On a cold night the large spa bath and comfortable bed was a welcoming comfort.
Amenities were generous considering the price of the room.
The staff were friendly and welcomed us to a tasting as soon as we picked up our keys which we didn't argue with! The wine of course was delicious and the worst thing was trying not to buy a bottle of everything! Because we stayed in the cottage we also got the treat of tasting the finer wines of their collection and discount on a wine purchase.
The grounds were beautiful with well maintained gardens, stunning old brick paving and big red autumn leaves.
Location is nice and central too.
Just wish we had more time to try out the restaurant too.
Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaelVDS, Manager at Kaesler Cottages B&b, responded to this review
Responded 1 July 2015
Thanks for staying with us, and we are glad you had a great time. Cheers, Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$117
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
2.5 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$106
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$114
  • Hotels.com
3.5 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$1,010
  • Hotels.com
4.0 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Barossa Weintal Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$324
  • Hotels.com
3.3 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$131
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.0 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.6 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.8 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nuriootpa
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
10
10
6
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
10
6
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar door your doorstep the cottages tasting spa vineyard bathroom barossa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

Service was outstanding, a spontaneous afternoon turned into a sensual journey as the Chef guided us through his tasting plate of delight. The matching wine and afternoon sun combined to complete the perfect autumnal Barossa experience

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Bianca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

Had a tasting at the cellar door with a very friendly and knowledgeable lady. was keen to try their iconic Old B Shiraz that i'd heard of and was pleased to be able to try this premium wine. it can cost $15 for the tasting of the premium wines but since I didn't want to taste all of the premiums (and the lady was so nice I guess) she didn't charge me.
We bought a few of their wines and would recommend people to include this winery on their Barossa tour.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tiger70SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2014

A friend and I stayed in the Kaseler Winery last weekend (Dec 2014) in two of the cottage rooms. The cottages are gorgeous, the winery setting stunning and we had glorious weather. We enjoyed the relaxing ambience, sitting outside the cottages of an evening, sipping Kaesler's stunning wines, strolling over the well kept lawns to the gazebo and through the vines at sunset.

Our hosts, Michael and Lisa, were very helpful with our questions on the accommodation and about the local environs. Their knowledge of wines (not just their own but in making comparisons to other wines and vintages) was impressive and helped improve our appreciation of wine. The associated casual and impromptu banter only added to the tasting session. The Old Vines tasting was sensational and we will both be getting a WOMS (Weapon of Mass Seduction) and testing it!

The accommodation is rustic and charming, with the rooms cool and the beds soft. The bedside tables had lamps and there were comfy chairs in the cottage room and a comfy sofa and chairs in the Cottage suite, with televisions in both rooms. Both rooms had spa baths which worked well and were very relaxing. The showers had strong water flow - with no parts detaching or needing repair. The wines we ordered in advance (there is a 20% discount on the rooms if you are a member, plus the Old Vines tasting is free) were waiting for us in our rooms and we were provided with all the continental breakfast ingredients we could hope for, including bottle of cooled water, plunger coffee, litre of fruit juice and FRESH milk in the fridge!

We were absolutely delighted with our stay at Kaesler and hope to be back soon.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Stayed for 2 nights recently and although pleasant there were several things which could have been better and improved our stay. The old cottages are within the grounds of the winery and we thought that as a marketing tactic the owners would be keen to attract us in to the cellar door for tasting and maybe purchase a few bottles. but it was not even mentioned. Perhaps a bottle of wine in the room would have been an inducement.(most wineries do this)
Upon arrival when we were shown into our cottage the lady host said to ignore the black mark on the carpet, as we need to get the carpet cleaned. Was not an issue for us but odd !!
Positives are the location, the bed was comfortable and the Spa was good.
On the negative side a bed side table lamp would be great as would an armchair/sofa to sit in rather than a Cafe style wicker chair with a thin cushion - this aspect was uncomfortable to say the least.Also one of the shower tap heads fell off each time we used it and the Toilet seat was broken.
The cottage we stayed in just needed some TLC and a bit more thought put in to its comfort levels.

Some friends stayed in the same cottage shortly after us and they were similarly unimpressed

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank R1510PVjohnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaelVDS, Manager at Kaesler Cottages B&b, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Hi John

Thank for your comments, and sorry that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We have taken your comments on board and I hope you will see some improvements if you are able to stay with us again.

Regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Firstly the accomodation:
We stayed in the cottages (number 1- the bigger one) for 2 nights.
The cottages are well maintained and include a lounge room, bed room and big bathroom with huge spa bath. Note: no kitchen, but all cutlery and crockery provided for the continental breakfast.
Cottage had new kettle and toaster and continental breakfast offered for 2 mornings included a loaf of local bread, 3 packets of musuli, 4 packets of cornflakes, many beerenburg jams, a litre of orange juice, a litre of milk, tea and coffee with a plunger.
The cottage structure is old (obviously, as part of the original buildings) but well maintained, no cracks etc, but I enjoyed the old light switches and plugs. Tv provided also with small fridge. Nice outdoor seating area, private off street seperate car park. Only complaint was the carpet could have used a steam clean.
There was no cooked breakfast upgrade offered of sparking wine as mentioned in previous posts (years ago).
If you are looking for a quaint place to go with your partner, nestled in the vineyard with real character I highly recommend it.
Also there was a slight key complication at check-in however the staff were excellent and very friendly and solved it while we tried their wines, and they offered tastes of exclusive wines while we waited.


The cellar door:
Staff were very friendly and well prepared for groups and drive-ins. There was a wedding on as we arrived in the small but well kept garden.

Please see my photos they probably say more than words can!

Room tip: cottage 1 is bigger we were told.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews