We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tiger70SH
Greater Melbourne, Australia

Nice cellar door and friendly staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Mar 2015via mobile
Had a tasting at the cellar door with a very friendly and knowledgeable lady. was keen to try their iconic Old B Shiraz that i'd heard of and was pleased to be able to try this premium wine. it can cost $15 for the tasting of the premium wines but since I didn't want to taste all of the premiums (and the lady was so nice I guess) she didn't charge me.
We bought a few of their wines and would recommend people to include this winery on their Barossa tour.
Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$153
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
2.5 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
3.2 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$118
  • Booking.com
3.5 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$1,040
  • Booking.com
4.0 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Barossa Weintal Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$220
  • Hotels.com
3.3 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$144
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.0 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.6 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.8 km from Kaesler Cottages B&b
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nuriootpa
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
10
10
6
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
10
6
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar door your doorstep the cottages tasting spa vineyard bathroom barossa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2014

A friend and I stayed in the Kaseler Winery last weekend (Dec 2014) in two of the cottage rooms. The cottages are gorgeous, the winery setting stunning and we had glorious weather. We enjoyed the relaxing ambience, sitting outside the cottages of an evening, sipping Kaesler's stunning wines, strolling over the well kept lawns to the gazebo and through the vines at sunset.

Our hosts, Michael and Lisa, were very helpful with our questions on the accommodation and about the local environs. Their knowledge of wines (not just their own but in making comparisons to other wines and vintages) was impressive and helped improve our appreciation of wine. The associated casual and impromptu banter only added to the tasting session. The Old Vines tasting was sensational and we will both be getting a WOMS (Weapon of Mass Seduction) and testing it!

The accommodation is rustic and charming, with the rooms cool and the beds soft. The bedside tables had lamps and there were comfy chairs in the cottage room and a comfy sofa and chairs in the Cottage suite, with televisions in both rooms. Both rooms had spa baths which worked well and were very relaxing. The showers had strong water flow - with no parts detaching or needing repair. The wines we ordered in advance (there is a 20% discount on the rooms if you are a member, plus the Old Vines tasting is free) were waiting for us in our rooms and we were provided with all the continental breakfast ingredients we could hope for, including bottle of cooled water, plunger coffee, litre of fruit juice and FRESH milk in the fridge!

We were absolutely delighted with our stay at Kaesler and hope to be back soon.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Stayed for 2 nights recently and although pleasant there were several things which could have been better and improved our stay. The old cottages are within the grounds of the winery and we thought that as a marketing tactic the owners would be keen to attract us in to the cellar door for tasting and maybe purchase a few bottles. but it was not even mentioned. Perhaps a bottle of wine in the room would have been an inducement.(most wineries do this)
Upon arrival when we were shown into our cottage the lady host said to ignore the black mark on the carpet, as we need to get the carpet cleaned. Was not an issue for us but odd !!
Positives are the location, the bed was comfortable and the Spa was good.
On the negative side a bed side table lamp would be great as would an armchair/sofa to sit in rather than a Cafe style wicker chair with a thin cushion - this aspect was uncomfortable to say the least.Also one of the shower tap heads fell off each time we used it and the Toilet seat was broken.
The cottage we stayed in just needed some TLC and a bit more thought put in to its comfort levels.

Some friends stayed in the same cottage shortly after us and they were similarly unimpressed

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank R1510PVjohnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaelVDS, Manager at Kaesler Cottages B&b, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Hi John

Thank for your comments, and sorry that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We have taken your comments on board and I hope you will see some improvements if you are able to stay with us again.

Regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Firstly the accomodation:
We stayed in the cottages (number 1- the bigger one) for 2 nights.
The cottages are well maintained and include a lounge room, bed room and big bathroom with huge spa bath. Note: no kitchen, but all cutlery and crockery provided for the continental breakfast.
Cottage had new kettle and toaster and continental breakfast offered for 2 mornings included a loaf of local bread, 3 packets of musuli, 4 packets of cornflakes, many beerenburg jams, a litre of orange juice, a litre of milk, tea and coffee with a plunger.
The cottage structure is old (obviously, as part of the original buildings) but well maintained, no cracks etc, but I enjoyed the old light switches and plugs. Tv provided also with small fridge. Nice outdoor seating area, private off street seperate car park. Only complaint was the carpet could have used a steam clean.
There was no cooked breakfast upgrade offered of sparking wine as mentioned in previous posts (years ago).
If you are looking for a quaint place to go with your partner, nestled in the vineyard with real character I highly recommend it.
Also there was a slight key complication at check-in however the staff were excellent and very friendly and solved it while we tried their wines, and they offered tastes of exclusive wines while we waited.


The cellar door:
Staff were very friendly and well prepared for groups and drive-ins. There was a wedding on as we arrived in the small but well kept garden.

Please see my photos they probably say more than words can!

Room tip: cottage 1 is bigger we were told.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was supposed to be a wonderful and well deserved night away - but ended up a completely sleepless night shared with mice running through the rooms. There was absolutely no one else on the premises to help and no one answered any on the 4 phone numbers left in case of emergency (except for a very late call from the Vineyard manager - and it wasn't his problem anyway) . We have been assured my daughter - who bought the De Groots voucher from London would get a refund --- but still nothing has come forward, so we wait to see if anything will actually eventuate. Also, don't get taken in by the huge sign out front that states "Bed and Breakfast" as there was no breakfast - they apologised, saying we should have been told, but we weren't, until we arrived.

Room tip: The big gaps under the doors and weeds in the garden should have been a sign of things to come!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ddwyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We called in here without a reservation and we are so glad we did. We had cottage 1, which had a lounge, bedroom and bathroom with a spa. The cottage was clean and inviting and the staff were friendly and helpful. A continental breakfast is complimentary but there is also a cooked breakfast option for $10. The restaurant is open for lunches.
The Kaesler winery at the rear is superb. Lauren was a fabulous host at the winery with lots of knowledge about the local area.
We had to travel back here a couple of days later to collect the pillow I left behind! Michael is the host of the restaurant and cottages and couldn't have been more helpful!.
Would highly recommend a night or two here as you explore the many wineries close by.
Make sure you meet Snuggles too! :-)

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SharlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews