We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came here on the first”
Review of Ember Pizza

Ember Pizza
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Nuriootpa
Price range: AU$15 - AU$50
Description: Ember Pizza is a family-friendly restaurant serving 'Proper Good' sourdough pizza cooked to perfection in our Italian Wood Oven. Ember has relaxed atmosphere with both indoor and outdoor garden dining areas. We have a carefully selected range of local wine and beers on tap. Keep an eye out for our '$35 all you can eat' every Wednesday & Thursday. We welcome groups of all sizes and cater for all dietary requirements.
Restaurant details
Description: Ember Pizza is a family-friendly restaurant serving 'Proper Good' sourdough pizza cooked to perfection in our Italian Wood Oven. Ember has relaxed atmosphere with both indoor and outdoor garden dining areas. We have a carefully selected range of local wine and beers on tap. Keep an eye out for our '$35 all you can eat' every Wednesday & Thursday. We welcome groups of all sizes and cater for all dietary requirements.
Reviewed 29 August 2020 via mobile

We came here on the first of August... we had been before and it was lovely but this time was different.

We made a booking for 4 adults and a child which I specified when booking he didn’t require a high chair but he is four. When we arrived we were seated at a bar table with bar stool style chairs to which we then needed to be moved as this was not appropriate or safe for a small child.

We ordered both entrees and mains - the entrees were lovely but we didn’t get to enjoy them as the mains were then bought to the table within 5-10 mins of the entree.

The pizzas were shocking.... they were soggy and the toppings slid straight off the top.... the kids Mac and cheese was so dry our son asked where the cheesy-ness was and said he couldn’t swallow it properly.

Disappointing visit. We had also sent an email the next day to which we got no reply.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank elle87975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
neilbU4455PB, Owner at Ember Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Hi Elle, Apologies you did not get a reply to your email, we will look into that. Also apologies you did not enjoy your experience as much as your first visit. Consistency is something we focus on, particularly in regards to the pizzas. We sit down with our Head Chef and the Front of House every week to review every detail of the pizza prep, cooking and serving, so they really should have been exactly as you had enjoyed on your last visit. We will have a look back and see if there was anything different that day. We will also look at the Mac and Cheese, it is normally very gooey and full of cheesy goodness. I am pleased we were able to move your group from the higher stools to a more appropriate table for a young child, it is not always easy to tell from the booking if a stool if appropriate or not and with the restrictions on numbers/tables we dont have as much to play with as we do normally - however we will look into perhaps just assuming a stool is not appropriate for any booking with children. We are working very hard to make Ember the outstanding restaurant we want it to be and in most cases we get there, apologies not in this case. Your feedback helps us to refine details and prodcedures to make sure every customer leaves our restaurant entirely satisified. Please come and see us again and I am sure your experience will be much closer to your other visit when it was lovely. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2020

A very nice atmosphere, spotlessly clean, friendly service, nice local craft food, hearty, filling and nice food.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2020 via mobile

Enjoyable place to eat. Pizza very good 👌🏻 salad amazing 👍 wine and gin delicious 😋 venue great. Can recommend

Date of visit: July 2020
2  Thank elizabethbA8037VU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2020

We had a group of 13 of us and seriously the service and food was insane! Would highly recommend!!!!

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Liliiammarrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2020 via mobile

Dropped in after a long day of enjoying all of what thee Barossa had to offer now that things are opening up after the Covid 19 lock-down.
We put them on the spot with no prior warning about desiring "GLUTEN FREE".
The initial response was not really possible but after a little discussion they obliged and the wood oven pizza was very tasty without consequences for the Ceoliac in our group. The only issue -a little sparse on topping but thatsva real Aussie thing.😊

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank DIBBLE06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ember Pizza also viewed

Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Ember Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.