We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Get away

Great area to visit easy to get around and towns close to each other that are beautiful, clean with... read more

Reviewed 27 February 2021
Mrs-Diedre
,
South Australia, Australia
via mobile
Cornish History

Visited on Tuesday 3rd March and Wednesday 4th March. The main towns are Wallaroo, Moonta and... read more

Reviewed 13 June 2020
Michael-4551
,
Caloundra, Australia
Read all 38 reviews
  
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
29
6
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
6
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2015

For Australians or from overseas. A hidden treasure of SA. The peninsula is a charm to visit and explore.

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Because we are regular travellers to yorkies we didn't do the tourist visits this trip but have been to most in the past. So much heritage to see.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

Well worth the trip. Copper mining heritage was fascinating and complimented a trip to Burra. Beaches were gorgeous.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

By coming to the Copper Coast you will get to understand the history of the area through its most famous attraction "The Kernewek Lowender" or Cornish Festival, held in May every second year. It is a big thing with each of the towns: Moonta, Kadina and Wallaroo having a day that is theirs, processions, people dressed in original Cornish clothing, stalls, singing, dancing, demos, and it is a know fact that people come to this Festival not only from everywhere in Australia, but even from overseas. Visitors mostly come up for the 3 day event and stay, but many just come
for one day, whichever way they come, they enjoy it - so why not put it on your "to be decided list for 2015" you will enjoy it.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

I have grown up here. I have family in both Moonta and Wallaroo; I even have extended family out in Minlaton. So for the past 26 years, I have traveled back and fourth to see family for Xmas/Easter etc.

My opinion is clearly biased as I have grown up here, But I will still review the Copper Coast.

The history, The scenery, The Beaches... Absolutely stunning. Moonta beach has always been a favourite South Australian beach for me. Beautiful in summer and not crowded like Victorias beaches. Have Caravan parks right on the beach too, Great for all those travelling families who want to pull over for a rest stop or RnR for a few days!

Moonta Mines has a bucketload of history behind it. There's a volunteer run and operated lolly shop that I have been going to as a kid. Across the road from that, The Miners Museum and miniature Train that takes you through the old Mining areas. Great for families, Friends, Anybody.

Kadina, Wallaroo, The list goes on. Theres plenty to do on the Copper Coast. Its worth a bit of time exploring and see how the rural towns operate.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank J0shwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews