We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Copper Coast

The Gateway to Darwin and beyond discover Moonta Mines via the Railway, Wallaroo and Kadina on... read more

Reviewed 1 June 2022
robyn e
Get away

Great area to visit easy to get around and towns close to each other that are beautiful, clean with... read more

Reviewed 27 February 2021
Mrs-Diedre
,
South Australia, Australia
via mobile
Read all 39 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
30
6
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
6
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2015

Well worth the trip. Copper mining heritage was fascinating and complimented a trip to Burra. Beaches were gorgeous.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2014

By coming to the Copper Coast you will get to understand the history of the area through its most famous attraction "The Kernewek Lowender" or Cornish Festival, held in May every second year. It is a big thing with each of the towns: Moonta, Kadina and Wallaroo having a day that is theirs, processions, people dressed in original Cornish clothing, stalls, singing, dancing, demos, and it is a know fact that people come to this Festival not only from everywhere in Australia, but even from overseas. Visitors mostly come up for the 3 day event and stay, but many just come
for one day, whichever way they come, they enjoy it - so why not put it on your "to be decided list for 2015" you will enjoy it.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2014

I have grown up here. I have family in both Moonta and Wallaroo; I even have extended family out in Minlaton. So for the past 26 years, I have traveled back and fourth to see family for Xmas/Easter etc.

My opinion is clearly biased as I have grown up here, But I will still review the Copper Coast.

The history, The scenery, The Beaches... Absolutely stunning. Moonta beach has always been a favourite South Australian beach for me. Beautiful in summer and not crowded like Victorias beaches. Have Caravan parks right on the beach too, Great for all those travelling families who want to pull over for a rest stop or RnR for a few days!

Moonta Mines has a bucketload of history behind it. There's a volunteer run and operated lolly shop that I have been going to as a kid. Across the road from that, The Miners Museum and miniature Train that takes you through the old Mining areas. Great for families, Friends, Anybody.

Kadina, Wallaroo, The list goes on. Theres plenty to do on the Copper Coast. Its worth a bit of time exploring and see how the rural towns operate.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank J0shwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Copper mining finished in Moonta and Wallaroo back in 1923 but the history around the place makes this beautiful area well worth a visit. Caravan parks right on the beach are great for fishing. A big grain export terminal at Wallaroo supports the biggest grain growing area in South Australia.

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank johnsS512AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Brilliant to go see the history of this area. All good history of this remarkable area. Lots to see and do. Stay in Moonta as a base and drive to other Towns from there.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank AdelaideTetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews