We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Copper Coast

The Gateway to Darwin and beyond discover Moonta Mines via the Railway, Wallaroo and Kadina on... read more

Reviewed 1 June 2022
robyn e
Get away

Great area to visit easy to get around and towns close to each other that are beautiful, clean with... read more

Reviewed 27 February 2021
Mrs-Diedre
,
South Australia, Australia
via mobile
Read all 39 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
30
6
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
6
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2014

I have grown up here. I have family in both Moonta and Wallaroo; I even have extended family out in Minlaton. So for the past 26 years, I have traveled back and fourth to see family for Xmas/Easter etc.

My opinion is clearly biased as I have grown up here, But I will still review the Copper Coast.

The history, The scenery, The Beaches... Absolutely stunning. Moonta beach has always been a favourite South Australian beach for me. Beautiful in summer and not crowded like Victorias beaches. Have Caravan parks right on the beach too, Great for all those travelling families who want to pull over for a rest stop or RnR for a few days!

Moonta Mines has a bucketload of history behind it. There's a volunteer run and operated lolly shop that I have been going to as a kid. Across the road from that, The Miners Museum and miniature Train that takes you through the old Mining areas. Great for families, Friends, Anybody.

Kadina, Wallaroo, The list goes on. Theres plenty to do on the Copper Coast. Its worth a bit of time exploring and see how the rural towns operate.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank J0shwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Copper mining finished in Moonta and Wallaroo back in 1923 but the history around the place makes this beautiful area well worth a visit. Caravan parks right on the beach are great for fishing. A big grain export terminal at Wallaroo supports the biggest grain growing area in South Australia.

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank johnsS512AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Brilliant to go see the history of this area. All good history of this remarkable area. Lots to see and do. Stay in Moonta as a base and drive to other Towns from there.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank AdelaideTetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked for 3 nights, staying in Moonta. The 3 towns of Kadina, Wallaroo and Moonta are all withing easy driving distance of each other. In retrospect, 2 nights would have been enough as we ran out of things to do. Most of the tourist places we wanted to visit were only open for limited hours on certain days. This is not helpful for tourists but understandable because these places are usually staffed by volunteers.
The Greg Norman-designed golf course has nor been a successful venture; only a 9-hole course to play on and the other 9 holes unlikey to be built. The land around the course is now being sold off in stages for holiday-homes. It is possible to get a coffee and a light meal at cafe/pro-shop.
Good supermarket/small shop facilities in each town.
Very good coffee at Henry's on George.

Date of experience: October 2013
2  Thank joanb255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2013

such a lovely area to explore, beautiful coast line, great farming area, lots of small towns to explore, great country shops and good caravan parks all along the way and not to far to travel to to see things.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank 871vickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews