We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food with a beer garden”

Magpie and Stump Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Mintaro
Description: An old country pub with a new feel. Good food, great wine and beer selection and fantastic atmosphere. Dine in our dining room or for a more casual feel on our verandah. Bring the kids to play in our fenced lawn area. You won't be disappointed.
Restaurant details
Description: An old country pub with a new feel. Good food, great wine and beer selection and fantastic atmosphere. Dine in our dining room or for a more casual feel on our verandah. Bring the kids to play in our fenced lawn area. You won't be disappointed.
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

Food was delicious!
Local brewed beer was tasty.
Atmosphere was perfect.
Fenced Yard for kids to run around it, even better !!

Compliments to the kitchen on the Tandoori burger and Stump burger. Delicious!!!

We visited as a group of 4 families. With kids ranging from 13yrs to 2 yrs old.

Only small negative was the kids ice cream took a bit to come out , and was melted. But was demolished none the less.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Sairz_loves_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2024 via mobile

We have eaten here a number of times whilst travelling over the years so came back for dinner. Easy enough to get last minute reservation, bar was busy but bistro was fine. Service was good, food tasted the same but the portions are much smaller unfortunately. My daughter’s ice cream came out almost all melted so she didn’t have that. Bit disappointing as has been good in the past

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Nattles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2023 via mobile

After standing waiting waiting waiting at 8pm to be told where our table was, we felt a bit miffed to find that we had been allocated a very cold ‘unloved-feeling’ table in a strange area of the building that felt like an overflow, and which was far too large for four (unless you cared to scream at each other!!). We felt underwhelmed because on a previous visit to that pub for drinks we’d spied attractive white table-clothed tables in the dining section and thought how nice it would be to have an ‘elegant’ pub meal!!!
We reassigned ourselves to a smaller table, but still in that cold area, so we could hear each other….but then we soon got over any irritation and also forgave fairly bland service once the food efficiently arrived. BRILLIANT and impressive looking schnitzels and burgers - not a skerrick was left!! - and the garlic prawn sauce was sensibly served on the side (without asking), so it was a decadent pool to dip the schnitzel pieces into …. and that sauce was coveted by all others on the table!! It’d be worth buying an extra portion as a takeaway serve ;)
We enjoyed not just the food but also the lovely local buzzy vibe. Just have to request a better table next time…. or be able to arrive earlier and be first in and better dressed.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank LisaMDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2023

Excellent small pub in country South Australia. The reviews and recommendations were spot on and we loved it. It has a reasonably priced wine list, inside and outside dining and a great menu. It is well managed and the dining areas are cosy and inviting.
Mintaro is a picturesque country town and the pub is perfect.Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 701David
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2023

Called in for lunch and a drink. Old style country pub - very friendly although very busy with a large party coming in after us. Some interesting art work around and a lot of bottles displayed with interesting artistic labels. Had a couple of drinks and an excellent lunch - in my case salt and pepper squid with salad an chips . One of the better pubs we went to during our trip from NZ

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Magpie and Stump Hotel also viewed

Been to Magpie and Stump Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.