We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
11
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2019 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in the Cypress Suite Beautiful heritage listed building but with modern bathroom and kitchen. Furnished to enhanced it’s history. Fire wood in good supply for the cold nights. Comfortable bed. Breakfast supply, bacon,egg,bread,butter and spreads. Only thing I would suggest is to supply real orange juice not sugar filled orange fruit drink plus maybe tomatoes or mushrooms to go with bacon& egg

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 707lynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne Cloke, Owner at Mintaro Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at William Hunt's Retreat in the beautiful Heritage listed town of Mintaro. We are pleased you loved Cypress Studio. We have been in the industry now for 16 years and believe we provide generous breakfast provisions with minimal waste and in our Confirmation letter we welcome guests to request dietary preferences. Our two night bookings include continental and cooked provisions (bacon and eggs and baked beans) additional nights we provide tomatoes (there is too much waste with mushrooms). Thank you for your feedback it gives us the opportunity to improve and we have reviewed the juice provided. Regards Yvonne and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2019 via mobile

We stayed in Cypress Studio for 8 nights in late May with our 9 year old daughter. The place is sublime from the wood fire to the slate walls and the chesterfields and a slight mention to the beautiful main en-suite with 2 person spa. The other en-suite is well appointed also and includes full washing facilities. Short stroll to the Magpie and Stump pub or Reilly’s or Mintaro wineries. Absolutely ideal position in the beautiful village of Mintaro. Will return as soon as we can

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank GhostWhoWalks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne Cloke, Owner at Mintaro Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at William Hunt's Retreat in the beautiful heritage listed town of Mintaro - we would be pleased to welcome you back. Regards
Yvonne and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

Booked this for the weekend before Christmas and it was superb. Good choice to stay in Mintaro as it was quiet yet there are many houses and a hotel there as well as the maze complex. Glad we did that instead of staying in Clare. The pub just a short walk away was great (Magpie and Stump) and driving around, nothing was more than 10-15 minutes away. The presentation and facilities were simply first class.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank painless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne C, Owner at Mintaro Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at William Hunt's Retreat - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Mintaro certainly is the jewel in the crown of the Clare Valley. We would love to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Yvonne and Peter Cloke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

6 of us stayed overnight and enjoyed the renovated 1850’s ambience of this charming slate cottage.Mintaro village is a step back in time with the newly renovated Magpie and Stump adding a cute pub dining addition to the town.
William Hunts owners have thought of everything in terms of facilities to supplies of fresh eggs and bacon for breakfast to complimentary wine and port by the wood fire at night.
They are experienced in B & B and will make your stay special.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Wilko63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne C, Owner at Mintaro Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at William Hunt's Retreat. We are delighted you had a memorable stay and enjoyed all that Mintaro has to offer. We would love to welcome you back. Regards Yvonne and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

For three couples driving a lot of miles as we head to the Kimberley, this was just an overnighter (sadly). Wonderfully comfortable beds and pillows, couches to relax on in front of a fire, and as for the generosity of the eggs from their chooks, bacon from the local butcher, Nespresso machine at our fingertips made breakfast in house a necessity. Just wish that we could have stayed longer.

Room tip: one of the two bedroom units had a spa, and the other washer and dryer. The one bedroom part had a bath.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RobinMellett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne C, Owner at Mintaro Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Adviser about your stay at William Hunt's Retreat. We are glad you enjoyed the experience and do hope that you can stay longer next time. Regards Yvonne and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews