We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coward Springs Campground
Romsey, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere!”
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We stayed here as a group in April 2015.

The campsite itself is really cool. First impressions were great - there is plenty of info at the front gate to explain the workings of the place as well as an honesty system to pay for your stay. We had quite a few spots to choose from and they were all fairly private and had a barrel to light a fire.

It's also worth noting that whilst we didn't book a spot, there was some reserved camp spots and they were clearly signed. I would suggest calling and booking a spot if you are unsure.

Amenities were clean and the showers worked great. It's always more satisfying to light your own fire and actually put in effort for your own hot water!

There was plenty of birds and wildlife around. We camped next to a bushy spot and got invaded by mice throughout the night. Whilst they didn't gain entry to our tent and they didn't bother me at all, my partner reckons she didn't sleep at all! The other people we were with camped next to trees and said they didn't hear a peep out of a mouse.

Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bushes if you hate mice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-dudemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed here for one night ,we would have loved to stay longer and if we ever go back that way we will stay again.it was busy but when we got there and set up we had a whole big site to ourselves ,facilities were gorgeous,loved the hot water donkey....should have lit it before my shower though lol,we collected some than sleepers before we got there and after our fire kept the nails from it.its very well kept ...springs were smaller than imagined but kids loved it

Helpful?
1 Thank irishanneli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Coward Springs campground in July 2014. From here we drove the 70 kms to William Creek to explore Lake Eyre. The facilities are very well maintained. Campsites are separated with trees so each area is very spacious and quite private with it's own fire pit. The stars at night are just amazing and so were the sunsets. Highly recommend staying here.

Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneDearie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pruegregC0wardSpring, Owner at Coward Springs Campground, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation and we're pleased that you stayed an extra day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for one night and what a fantastic campground. Not only are the amenities immaculate they are visually fantastic being made from old train track sleepers with the outdoor hand wash basins having some pressed tin behind them. There is also a hot water rocket which needs to be stoked to supply the hot water for the showers which works a treat. Each camp spot is spacious and most are well sheltered and have fire pits which have been meticulously raked around. The hot spring is also a visual treat as well as being lovely and warm. The owners have also restored one of the original buildings here and turned it into a really great little museum. Highly recommend this place for at the very least one night.

Helpful?
Thank divertente88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pruegregC0wardSpring, Owner at Coward Springs Campground, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you! Wait until you see the toilet floors on your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Built on the site of an old pub, the campsite is split into individual camping spots with fire pit that give a sense of privacy. Museum on site is interesting. Springs is more of a natural hot tub- gets crowded though. A great stop over spot

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Outback2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Coward Springs Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coward Springs Campground

Property: Coward Springs Campground
Address: Oodnadatta Track | Coward Springs, Marree, South Australia 5733, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Marree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Marree
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coward Springs, located on the Oodnadatta Track in Outback South Australia is an oasis, a restored and heritage-listed railway site, a place to relax and 'really get a sense of the outback and its history'. Once a thriving railway siding on the old Ghan Line it is now a campground and day visitor area.Attractions include the bore-fed ‘natural spa’; the Engine Drivers Cabin, restored and open as a museum; shady historic trees and date palms and new facilities built from recycled railway and telegraph materials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coward Springs Campground Marree, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing