We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jane B
School Lane High Easter Essex
Relaxing stay in the wine country
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jan 2020via mobile
Our hosts were extremely hospitable. The quality of bed linen and toiletries are way above what might be expected from a bed and breakfast - which are very convivial.
There is a host of great restaurants and cafes in nearby Tanunda.
Highly recommended
Date of stay: January 2020
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
AU$545
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$120
  • Agoda.com
    AU$120
3.7 km from Abbotsford Country House
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$131
  • Agoda.com
    AU$108
  • Priceline
    AU$122
2.0 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    AU$1,500
  • Trip.com
    AU$1,359
  • Expedia.com
1.9 km from Abbotsford Country House
Booking.com
AU$1,100
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$1,100
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,080
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,100
5.6 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$269
  • Novotel
    AU$269
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$242
  • Priceline
    AU$269
5.8 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$399
  • Agoda.com
    AU$350
  • Expedia.com
    AU$390
7.8 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
General
Booking.com
AU$114
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$114
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$114
9.0 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$208
  • Agoda.com
    AU$208
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
10.4 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$275
  • Priceline
    AU$275
  • Agoda.com
    AU$275
  • eDreams
    AU$275
9.5 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Lyndoch
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
126
26
9
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
126
26
9
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

Just got home from the Barossa, having stayed at Abbotsford Country House for 4 nights. Julian greeted us as we drove up the driveway telling us where to park. The room was your typical country style , with chocolates & a decanter of port for your consumption. The room is big with a large bathroom & deep bath tub. My husband & I enjoyed our stay, admittedly I was surprised not to see a tv at first but I got over it quick as I soaked in the sprawling valley of vineyards & the black hefer cows grazing in the foreground who I would chat to going in & out of the property! The main house has a lovely lounge area & is very pleasant! Breakfast every morning in the dining room was great, chatting to Julian plus meeting overseas visitors was a highlight! The Barossa is a wonderful place, tasty wine with plenty cellar doors to visit , we did 4 days back to back wine tasting & we visited at least 5 or more a day & still we probably just scraped the surface. Thanks Julian & Jane had a delightful stay ! (Say bye to Beldy for me!)

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2019

Jane and Julian are terrific hosts at this very spacious property . The rooms are large , well equipped and quiet . Excellent breakfast cooked by Jane and terrific advice about the Barossa Valley which is stunning and has plenty of interesting features , not just wine tasting . The owners welcome you very warmly , creating a delightfully relaxed atmosphere and a lot of fun

Room tip: All the suites have beautiful views of nearby vineyards and rolling hills
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2019 via mobile

Our recent stay for a client of ours was really nice. He was welcomed and certainly was looked after by hosts Julian and Janee. They are so knowledgeable, serve a beautiful meal, the main building certainly has the country house/lodge feel. If you want to be spoiled, want quietness and country old fashioned hospitality it’s the place to be. Thankyou.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JeaniS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2019

With one night to spare travelling through the Barossa Valley, we booked this B&B and very pleased with our stay. It is named a Country House and is more a beautiful homestead in a great location with fantastic views. Although we did not utilise the big lounge room, I could imagine us sitting in front of the open fire sipping red wines from the region and discussing the next days itinerary. After waking up in our cosy room, it was down to the homestead for a hearty breakfast cooked by our host Jane. A fantastic breaky option of small or LARGE whichever way you want it, cooked in a fabulous country house kitchen with a view to savour.
Highly recommend a stay at Abbotsford Country House.

Room tip: All rooms are equal with easy access
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bodgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2019

We recently had the most delightful short holiday in South Australia, staying in Adelaide, the Barossa Valley and at Sterling in the Adelaide Hills. The only disappointment of this gorgeous time was our stay at Abbotsford Country House. The rooms were very old fashioned and worn...lighting was poor and bulbs blown, items were dusty, the toilet seat was loose - in general everything need a good clean and polish. Although we alerted the owner to this nothing happened. Jane prepared lovely breakfasts, but we would rather have had time to ourselves than had Julian droning on about his escapades and interrupting guests chatting with each other.
My wish is that owners would occasionally stay in guest rooms and learn first hand what is needed.
The location is superb, the rooms quiet...but it all needs a spruce up.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AussieRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews