We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rita V

A rapid visit in a stunning place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Mar 2019
When I got the chance to visit Barossa valley, I found this lovely hotel by chance. It was the best thing what could happen to me. Such a nice hosts Julien and Jane! I got wonderful service, a really nice and spacious room. The breakfast was superb too.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.3 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Abbotsford Country House
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
Pool
Outside of Geranium Cottage
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.5 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
living area to dining area
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
7.3 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
1.9 km from Abbotsford Country House
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.7 km from Abbotsford Country House
General
AU$123
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
9.0 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
Pool
AU$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • ZenHotels.com
10.0 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lyndoch
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
126
26
9
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
126
26
9
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2019

Purpose built by owner Julian to provide excellent accommodation and superb very large sitting and dining rooms in the main homestead. Julian's breakfasts are amazing and he is a mine of information about the area and it's history. Great fun. Also at Julian's suggestion we had dinner at The Lord Lyndoch restaurant which is a few minutes drive away and had one of the best steaks we have ever had outside Argentina.

Room tip: All rooms are excellent.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnsanmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2019

What a unique and wonderful experience we had staying at Julian and Jane’s hotel! Julian made us feel so at home and couldn’t have been nicer. The setting and the property are beautiful. So restful!
We would highly recommend this property. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DianeD1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2019

If you after peace and quiet and fantastic views this is the place to stay. From the time we arrived till the time we left Julian made us feel very special. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast was a gourmet delight especially the stewed fruits. Yes it is out of town, but distances to restaurants and wineries was not an issue with most being 5-20 minutes away depending what you want to eat. Time to get a good wine and return to sit under the verandah and soak up the peace and views. Julian did a platter of cheese and meats on one night and this was more than enough for a dinner for two. The location allows for visits to numerous wineries especially the smaller ones and still be able return to your accommodation with plenty of time for more R & R. Will definitely return.

Room tip: The Burge had a fantastic view.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2018

Our group booked all eight rooms for five nights in November and we were all sad to leave. From the large rooms to the rose filled garden to the view over the vines and hills we all agreed this was the perfect spot. Breakfasts were amazing, and lingering in the main room at the end of the day very relaxing. Julian and Jane shared tips on where to go, and were always available when needed. That included a trip to the local hospital.
We were delighted with our stay and would like to say "thank you" to our hosts.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2018

We had a very pleasant stay at Abbotsford and we enjoyed pleasant surroundings and conversations with the ownersover breakfast. The rooms were pleasant and large, however we were disappointed to learn that because we booked via an agent, that the room would not be serviced throughout our stay. OK, so this could be a cost cutting exercise to minimise overheads on a discounted stay (it still wasn't cheap) HOWEVER, when tea/coffee/port is provided in the rooms and there are clearly no washing up facilities in the guest rooms, would it really be too much to ask to have the glasses and crockery washed and replaced daily? Having to try to rinse these items ourselves in the bathroom sink, with no cleaning materials was very disappointing. If it hadn't been for this false economy on the part of the hosts, I would have rated this place very good.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank electroshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews