We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
electroshock
Datchet, United Kingdom

Pleasant stay, rated average rather than excellent due to cleaning policy

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Nov 2018
We had a very pleasant stay at Abbotsford and we enjoyed pleasant surroundings and conversations with the ownersover breakfast. The rooms were pleasant and large, however we were disappointed to learn that because we booked via an agent, that the room would not be serviced throughout our stay. OK, so this could be a cost cutting exercise to minimise overheads on a discounted stay (it still wasn't cheap) HOWEVER, when tea/coffee/port is provided in the rooms and there are clearly no washing up facilities in the guest rooms, would it really be too much to ask to have the glasses and crockery washed and replaced daily? Having to try to rinse these items ourselves in the bathroom sink, with no cleaning materials was very disappointing. If it hadn't been for this false economy on the part of the hosts, I would have rated this place very good.
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$130
  • Priceline
    AU$154
  • Agoda.com
    AU$121
  • Expedia.com
    AU$150
2.0 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
Pool
AU$495
  • Priceline
    AU$495
  • Expedia.com
    AU$495
  • Trip.com
    AU$495
2.2 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$120
  • Agoda.com
    AU$120
3.7 km from Abbotsford Country House
AU$1,500
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    AU$1,359
  • Agoda.com
    AU$1,500
  • Expedia.com
1.9 km from Abbotsford Country House
AU$1,100
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$1,100
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,100
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,100
5.6 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
AU$251
  • Priceline
    AU$251
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$240
  • Expedia.com
    AU$251
5.8 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$338
  • Priceline
    AU$349
  • Vio.com
    AU$310
  • Hotels.com
    AU$337
7.8 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
General
AU$131
  • Priceline
    AU$131
  • Vio.com
    AU$124
  • Expedia.com
    AU$131
9.0 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
Pool
AU$174
  • Agoda.com
    AU$174
  • Vio.com
    AU$174
  • Algotels
10.4 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$275
  • Priceline
    AU$275
  • Expedia.com
    AU$275
  • Hotels.com
    AU$275
9.5 km from Abbotsford Country House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Lyndoch
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
126
26
9
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
126
26
9
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Jane and Julian are simply put one of the most inspiring, hard working and wonderful people we have ever met. I speak on behalf of myself and 3 of my mates that stayed at Abbotsford for 3 weeks, doing voluntarily work. The family provided us with everything we needed and even more so. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and home and we quickly noticed how well they treat their guests. They are very just and respectful. It does not take much to see how important it is for them to provide the best conditions for their guests. The rooms are beautiful and perfect if you want to get away from your usual working day and simply relax.

Jane is the best chef hands down. We still miss the view, the food and last but not least this amazing family. Therefore we recommend Abbotsford with all our hearts.
We could write at least a 1000 good things about the hosts and the place but doubt Tripadvisor would let us. Stay here and we're sure you wont regret it!

/4 Danish guys :)

Room tip: Rooms close to the big house
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 980alihana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Spent the weekend at this fabulous place in the Barossa. Accommodation fabulous, owners friendly and accommodating to all our needs. The location itself peaceful and relaxing. I highly recommend this place to visitors to the valley.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 492annj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We loved the Abbotsford Country House. The Hosts Jane and Julian are very welcoming and their communication with us in the lead up to our stay was excellent. Our room was just lovely with a beautiful view and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Thank you for the complimentary port!! The main house which we had access to 24/7 was very relaxing and cosy.

Julian made us and outstanding cooked breakfast!!

The only downside of the location is that it is a drive into Lyndoch village(small) as well as Tanunda (great restaurants and coffee). Which is not far away but not within walking distance.

We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thejuddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Abbotsford house reminded me of going home to your mothers or grandmothers. Comfortable but slightly old-fashioned. Cosy but not 100% clean and tidy. A few cobwebs a bit of dust and A few repairs needed to be done.
This was not a four-star 4 to5 star hotel experience. It was more a homely stay in somebody’s home. You are made to feel welcome and the food was tasty.

A nice experience but nothing exceptional.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank AdelaideLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Abbotsford Country House was a great place to spend the weekend in the Barossa. Jane cooked us some wonderful breakfasts. Julian was a gracious host and the facilities were excellent. Loved spending time with good friends in the communal room by the fire place. Would definitely come back here next time I visit the Barossa. Julian and Jane have a fantastic place here and run the place extremely well. The view alone is worth staying for. Do yourself a favour and stay here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank AndrewBriggs1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews