We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
114
21
8
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
21
8
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house complimentary port other guests barossa valley great hosts purpose built guest suites sumptuous breakfast honesty bar a wonderful stay country hospitality pleasure of staying spa bath quiet location open fire lounge room glass of wine
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful place to just chill out, enjoy the Barossa landscape, have a glass of wine and great food. Delightful hosts, comfortable room and shared homestead facilities. Loved the communal breakfast conversation and open honesty bar policy. Great place to stay as a base while you spend a few days exploring the Barossa. Highly recommend - thanks Julian & Jane for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kyliecurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Waking up at Abbotsford in your well appointed suite you may be unprepared for the glorious view outside. Acres of gorgeous vineyards, grapes ripening in the sun across a broad swath of this beautiful valley. The feast for the eyes is followed by a sumptuous breakfast in the main house. Jane and Julian are excellent hosts, friendly and helpful. (Note to Julian: Get your son to help improve your barista skills, mate). Great location, handy to restaurants and wineries, while affording peaceful solitude.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank slgoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

This is a stunning property offering beautiful rooms in an idyllic location. In a normal situation I would be touting all of the accolades about this (albeit a bit overpriced relative to other comparable places we have stayed in Australia but nonetheless lovely) property...nice room, good breakfast, spa bath, etc. Unfortunately, there were two “fine print” (or perhaps undisclosed, as neither my husband nor I recalls seeing anything about either of these things when booking) negatives that we feel any future guests should be aware of before booking:
1. If you book through an online travel agency (Expedia, booking.com, or anyone Trip Advisor redirects you to) or, even if you book the “web special” on their own website, they will not service your room during your stay. Maybe it is us but we found this to be preposterous! We were paying $330 US ($440-450AU) per night, and suffice it to say that in all our travels around the world we have never stayed in a room in that price range that doesn’t provide daily maid service (in our experience, most provide twice daily service in that price range). We understand that fees charged by online travel companies (perhaps doubled if you are directed to one of these sites from TA, which we were) eat into small business profits but this is a cost of doing business and, as I told the owner, we never would have found them but for TA. We booked within the week so a) it isn’t likely that we snagged a room they would have otherwise have been booked for full price and b) if they don’t want customers from online travel agencies, don’t list the property there. But, to me, to undo all of the positives you are offering with your property by “punishing” guests who find you through these media is both outrageous and really bad business!
2). The rooms do not offer TV or WiFi. You have to go to the main house for that. We were told that the idea is to force people to relax, read and talk to each other. While I get (but do not necessarily agree with) the TV part, sorry but in this day and age, many people read (or watch TV) on their iPads. Also, most guests staying at the property are mature enough to make their own decisions about when they want to interact with each other and how/when they want to chill, alone or together. We were relaxing and trying to finalize the next leg of our stay after dinner and the fact that my husband had to get dressed and go to the main house to complete the WiFi transactions to do this, rather than being able to do from the comfort of our room, was just not something one anticipates, or appreciates, in this price category. Based upon the previous negative, our guess is that this has more to do with cost than anything. Bottom line is that this is indeed a beautiful property but unfortunately these two (in our opinion, self destructive) management decisions interfered with what would otherwise have been a perfect stay and a rave review.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank SandSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

As I went to write this review, I was surprised to see 4 Terrible reviews. I read these reviews and it made me realise that there are some narrow minded imbeciles in the world.

The hosts Jane and Julian were nothing short of perfect and really understood how to make a guest feel welcomed and comfortable.

The accomodation was homely and quaint with some nice extra inclusions that arent listed when booking.

A great choice for a B&B to stay in that gives you a home away from home feeling.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joshua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We truly loved our stay here! The hosts were so incredibly lovely, and the rooms were beautiful! The house sits on a hill overlooking the wineries - loved the view especially with the autumn colours. The wonderful breakfast was a great way to start the day. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tabitha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews