We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest fare!”
Review of The Greenock

The Greenock
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Greenock
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 February 2024 via mobile

Went there for lunch on a beautiful hot sunny day. We were on a private wine tour and this was the convenient place to stop for a spot of lunch. This place is huge, nice and traditional. The staff was friendly and told us to sit where we wanted. We decided on the smaller beer garden - nicely shaded with grape vines and even though it’s adjacent to the street, it was very quiet. We ordered the seafood pizza and the cheeseburger. Both were good meals, but nothing special…still, we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this place. It has a very nice selection of local wines - we each had a glass of rosé from different local wineries.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank PDMM_Gourmands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2024 via mobile

Went here for lunch. It is a nice hotel with a comfortable ambience and pleasant dining areas. They have a good menu with plenty of gluten free options. I had duck breast with Asian greens and potato stack - excellent.

Service was excellent and there is a good selection of local wines by the glass.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank bobjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023 via mobile

Friendly service with a great wine selection and a bunch of classic pub meals as well as tempting specials. I loved my slow cooked lamb and rosemary pie. Lots of outdoor seating. Absolutely no complaints as thoroughly enjoyed dining here.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank AlexofMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2023

So disappointed in the lamb shank meal. Was cold in the middle. Meat did not pull off the bone. Mashed potato was lumpy and uncooked. Been there many times and usually enjoy it however not good this time!

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2023

Great spot in the beer garden and our well behaved dog was welcome. The food was lovely. Fish and chips was the best Ive had for ages and a large serve. The pie and jambalaya were yummy. Staff were friendly and efficient. Def recommend

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JenK450W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Greenock also viewed

Greenock, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 
Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 

Been to The Greenock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.