We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise ”
Review of El Estanco

El Estanco
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Greenock
Price range: AU$23 - AU$58
Description: While El Estanco continues to evolve, our values remain the same – our ethos of bringing people together to enjoy wholesome, local food with a South American twist. We have restored an old property in the heart of Greenock, and our newly renovated premises will offer you, your family and our community a unique Barossa experience. We cannot wait to share what we have created. Open seven days 8am-4pm breakfast, lunch & sometimes dinner. Here till late Fridays - Check out our Friday Fiesta page for more info.
Restaurant details
Description: While El Estanco continues to evolve, our values remain the same – our ethos of bringing people together to enjoy wholesome, local food with a South American twist. We have restored an old property in the heart of Greenock, and our newly renovated premises will offer you, your family and our community a unique Barossa experience. We cannot wait to share what we have created. Open seven days 8am-4pm breakfast, lunch & sometimes dinner. Here till late Fridays - Check out our Friday Fiesta page for more info.
Reviewed 10 April 2021 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise this gorgeous restaurant was. Stumbled across this on our trek across the Barossa. Highly recommend. Food was outstanding, fresh and flavoursome. Staff friendly and prompt. The actual building itself is awesome. Very fancy bathroom. Loved your cactuses. We will be returning definitely

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank haddlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abby O, Manager at El Estanco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2021

Hola Haddlem,

Your incredible review has been passed around the restaurant this morning and given everyone some extra sparkle. Thank you so much for sharing your experience.

Abby; one of the owners of El Estanco was particularly happy with your thoughts on the toilets haha.

Have a wonderful weekend and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindly,

Terri
Restaurant Manager
El Estanco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

Gorgeous food and very friendly staff. We sat inside, however the outdoor area looked great. Perfect food to share and we loved every dish. The cakes were amazing!

Date of visit: April 2021
3  Thank louloumack26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abby O, Manager at El Estanco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Hello Loulou.

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time at El Estanco and hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful week.

Terri
Restaurant Manager
El Estanco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2021

Great menu in interesting modern setting. Aircon not too brilliant on a really hot day. Spacious setting and interesting and lovely food.

Date of visit: February 2021
2  Thank McCRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abby O, Manager at El Estanco, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2021

Hola McCRichards,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at El Estanco.

We're so happy you enjoyed it and will defiantly re visit our air condition situation out ASAP. El Estanco was opened 6.5 months ago in a time where Australia saw it's hospitality among many other industries crash, we were unsure when or weather it was even possible to open and now that we have, we look forward to working towards a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all of our customers.

Enjoy the rest f your week and again, thank you for your time.

Kindly

Terri
Restaurant Manager
Lindsay Wine Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2021

The atmosphere and set-up was excellent, the service friendly and professional and the food simple Spanish inspired. The menu is small and do not expect fine dining but overall El Estanco did a very good job with quality and honest food presented well and at reasonable prices

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abby O, Owner at El Estanco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2021

Hola Oldjack,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience at El Estanco. We're really happy you've enjoyed it and you're absolutely right, our home 'El Estanco' is a place for families and long loud lunches with mates over shared meals, definitely not fine dining; quality food, quality service with quality amigos.

We appreciate your time and look forward to your next visit.

Kindly,

Terri
Restaurant Manager
El Estanco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2021

This is my third and final review of this place, and we had the best experience yet! Firstly —— Once again, pizza Friday night was Fabulous. The pizzas are to die for, wood fired with fresh ingredients; seasonal, with special cocktails made on the night. We have dined several times on ‘pizza night’ and the pizzas keep getting better. A definite must when you are in the Barossa. It’s always a busy, and fun evening, so make sure your book. Wonderful to sit outside, on a warm evening.

Secondly —- This was our second visit for brunch. This time trying the French Brioche toast, which was out of this world! It was paired with spiced orange mascarpone, honeycomb and macerated strawberries. The house-made brioche was light and beautiful, possibly the best I have had. My partner had scrambled eggs with tortilla, avocado, queso fresco, and was equally impressed with the flavours, originality and freshness. The serving bowls, plates and coffee cups are also gorgeous, pottery/earthenware (some of which can be purchased onsite)

There is a also new buzz in town, and it’s definitely the patisserie chef (Cheryse Zagler) who works with El Estanco. Her freshly made eclairs- Wowsers! Very beautiful to look at, and divine to eat. She creates different flavours; local Gin inspired. We had strawberry and cream with a hint of Gin. Simply gorgeous, a taste sensation. We’ve also tried a couple of her cakes and pecan pie... everything is just amazing. She also does specialty botanical cakes on order. ( plenty of yummy fresh bread, croissant’s etc also available).

This place has grown on me so much since the new opening, and now it’s pretty much booked out every time we go —- and we can see why. We are very excited to go again, the next time we are in the Barossa. They have certainly ironed out some of the creases in the early stages of opening. We can’t wait to go back!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Foodietraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abby O, Manager at El Estanco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2021

Hola -

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at El Estanco; the details from your review have captured all the unique levels that we are incredibly passionate about and want to share with others.

Your time is very appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kindly,

Terri
Restaurant Manager
El Estanco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Estanco also viewed

Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
Lyndoch, Barossa Valley
 
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 

Been to El Estanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.