We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a wine tour, a great Coonawarra experience.”

Coonawarra Experiences
Ranked #1 of 22 Food & Drink in Coonawarra
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: COONAWARRA EXPERIENCES offers you the premier boutique wine touring service in Coonawarra with intimate and unique experiences for all who visit Coonawarra. Highly customised tours revolve around you and what you wish to achieve during your stay in this world famous and historic region. Our tours cater for groups of all sizes in comfort and style including corporate reward packages and team building options. You enjoy the day whilst we look after the driving. The Coonawarra wine region is certainly world famous for Cabernet Sauvignon but also offers a tremendous range of other varietals such as Riesling, Chardonnay, Pinot Gris and Merlot just to name a few. Many visitors to Coonawarra are knocked out by the choices on offer at the various cellar doors. Most of the cellar doors are open seven days a week which provides plenty of options. There are also a number that are by appointment only and this is where COONAWARRA EXPERIENCES can assist in arranging access for you.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We took away such great memories from our first trip to Coonawarra and a big part of that was our winery tour with Coonawarra Experiences. Simon is as good as it gets. Far more than just the designated driver, it's his passion and knowledge for the region and its wines that makes it such an extraordinary day.

Simon designed our afternoon based on our interests but threw in some lovely little surprises and experiences. It's not about getting through as many wineries as possible with Simon, it's about spending some real quality time and taking in the uniqueness of each winery. In end it just felt like just getting about with a really good friend and having a great time.

Everyone should visit the Coonawarra but if you really want to get the most out if it, get in touch with Simon and Kerry and take a wine tour with Coonawarra Experience.

By the way Simon and Kerry are great hosts and have a lovely B&B right in the heart of Penola. Well that might be our next trip !

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Seance10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Owner at Coonawarra Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

We can't thank you enough for your wonderful review of Coonawarra Experiences. We truly do wish to engage with everyone who joins us on our tours and hope that they take away the impressions and memories that you and your group did. We are here to showcase the entire region and will continue to strive to do this.

Please do visit us again and we can also help with a place to stay!

Cheers Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"these guys"
in 5 reviews
"wine tour"
in 8 reviews
"little touches"
in 3 reviews
"full day tour"
in 3 reviews
"wine preferences"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"personal tour"
in 2 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 2 reviews
"local wineries"
in 2 reviews
"degustation lunch"
in 2 reviews
"special experiences"
in 2 reviews
"his passion"
in 2 reviews
"high end"
in 2 reviews
"second to none"
in 2 reviews
"feel very welcome"
in 2 reviews
"personal touch"
in 2 reviews
"great tour"
in 2 reviews
Filter

47 - 51 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018

We head back to the Coonawarra region every couple of years - we have our favourite wineries, but this time we thought we'd try some we haven't been to. There's plenty off the main drag, and they can be a little tricker to find and/or require bookings.
We hooked up with Coonawarra Experiences. Simon and Kerrie's passion for the region is obvious, and their knowledge of wines, local wineries and the people who make them is phenomenal. It's quite surprising they've only been going a few months. We got to meet owners and winemakers, and gain an insight we never would've had otherwise. They picked the best wineries, based upon our previous experiences and wine preferences. We now have some NEW favourites.
You know when people get to follow their dreams and do what they love? Yeah, that. And they share the love. Highly, HIGHLY recommend.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Cory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Owner at Coonawarra Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Wow! Well what can we say about a review like this??? Thank you so much Cory for your wonderful high praise. We both adore what we do and want everyone regardless of if they join us for a tour to fall in love with Coonawarra just as we did on our first visit years ago.

Please return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We recently went on a tour with Simon and it was such an experience. He went above and beyond for our group and we had such a fun day! We have been on plenty of wine tours over the years, but this I must say was the best.

Date of experience: December 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank bec_a_chappell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Owner at Coonawarra Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks Bec, it was such a fantastic day. The group were amazing and we had a great time with you all. Please come back soon and we can show even more of this incredible region. Cheers Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

I can not recommend Simon enough. There is no better way to see the Coonawarra wine region. He picked a great range of wineries to visit and was full of knowledge along the way. Fantastic day.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Ashlyn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Owner at Coonawarra Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review. We had a ball hosting you guys and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves here in magical Coonawarra. Keep an eye on the Raidis Estate website as well for the next shindig.....what a fantastic night is was!

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Cheers Simon & Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Special thanks to Simon and Kerry for a wonderful day touring around Coonawarra. Friendly and generous sharing of their knowledge and relationships made our visit to the wineries and sites of Coonawarra exceptional. Would highly recommend a day out with Coonawarra Experiences who tailored our day to suit the pace we wanted and the things we most wanted to see and do.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Owner at Coonawarra Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thanks for your review Rob. We thoroughly enjoyed our time taking you around our iconic region and we're very pleased we were able to introduce you to some new experiences within Coonawarra. Please do come back and see us when next in town.

Cheers Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coonawarra Experiences also viewed

Coonawarra, South Australia
Coonawarra, South Australia
 
Coonawarra, South Australia
Coonawarra, South Australia
 

Been to Coonawarra Experiences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing