We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David255057
Canberra, Australia

Very good experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2023
We were two couples and just stayed overnight on Monday 13 March (Adelaide cup holiday). We were in Burra the previous year and wanted to see the things we had missed. This was really good. Clean and great facilites for two couples. Great price. I would like to congratulate all those involved. A very good experience- thank you.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Logo
AU$128
  • Booking.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$152
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$160
0.0 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free parking
clare exterior sunset hi res
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$204
  • Agoda.com
    AU$177
  • Hotels.com
    AU$220
34.1 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$335
  • Agoda.com
    AU$335
  • Vio.com
33.7 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$150
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$150
34.9 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$169
35.0 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$330
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$330
  • eDreams
    AU$330
35.0 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$331
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$331
  • eDreams
    AU$331
35.3 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free parking
View more hotels in Burra
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
48
47
22
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
48
47
22
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages bedroom cottage caravan park thick stone walls two singles slate floors perfect stay full kitchen interesting history bbq facilities air con reverse cycle hot weather lovely town the main street couple of days queen bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2023

Spent 2 nights at the cottages and had a lovely time. Were greeted with a large lawned area which was great given I had my dog with me. When we entered the cottage we couldn't believe how spacious it was (1 bedroom cottage for 2 people and a dog). Was very new and clean inside and all furniture was new, kitchen was a good size as was the shower and bathroom. Toiletries provided were generous. Lovely town Burra if you're looking for a bit of peace and quiet and some history. We will absolutely be back.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2022 via mobile

The cottage is fine. No complaints. Nice and cool considering outside temperature was over 40 degrees 😱
BUT the woman at reception seemed to hate us on sight. Really unwelcoming which leaves a sour taste to the whole experience. I agree with previous reviews, the accommodation and the town deserve better 🥺

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2022

Great little restored cottages with a full kitchen, large lounge area with separate bedroom and bathroom. The tricky part is to acquire your key to the cottage when arriving you have to go to the reception at the Caravan Park down a side street.
The heating works well in the lounge area but the bathroom/toilet and kitchen was cold.
Watch out for the little raised edge around the old non operational fireplace in the kitchen. I stubbed my toe on it as the lighting in the kitchen isn't great. Parking was good at the back door. Entry via the back was best as the front door didn't want to release the door key without a lot of effort.
Cost was $176 per night

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2022

Booked this accomodation on Bookings and specified we were a family of 2 adults and 3 children (12,10 and 10)
Asked if there was enough room in the two apartments? Answer was yes.
When we arrived, they gave us 2 seperate rooms - not connecting.
Would not help with trying to resolve the issue and just refused to acknowledge that as a “family with young children” you would want the rooms to be connected.

Blamed me and my booking - rather than actually being helpful and trying to resolve.

We ended up with 2 apartments well apart from each other.

The most unhelpful, stupid and useless people - who could not take the time to question the specifics of the requirement.
Anne, you were extremely rude and could not take note that when you book as a family, you want the accomodation as a family.
I will not be recommending this accomodation, because stupidly some people just don’t get it!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank danielagC9893TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2022

Would have made it a perfect stay if there hadn't been the stench of the previous holiday makers cooking. Just could not rid of the smell. Other than that, beautiful location, lovely rooms, comfortable and clean

Room tip: ask for the cottages that front Bridge Tce
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews