We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janelle M
Canberra, Australia

Roomy but a bit Chilly

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Oct 2022
Great little restored cottages with a full kitchen, large lounge area with separate bedroom and bathroom. The tricky part is to acquire your key to the cottage when arriving you have to go to the reception at the Caravan Park down a side street.
The heating works well in the lounge area but the bathroom/toilet and kitchen was cold.
Watch out for the little raised edge around the old non operational fireplace in the kitchen. I stubbed my toe on it as the lighting in the kitchen isn't great. Parking was good at the back door. Entry via the back was best as the front door didn't want to release the door key without a lot of effort.
Cost was $176 per night
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Logo
AU$128
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    AU$130
0.5 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
0.4 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
1.6 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$152
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free parking
clare exterior sunset hi res
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$175
  • Algotels
34.1 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$335
  • Agoda.com
33.7 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free parking
AU$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel Site
34.9 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    AU$169
  • Vio.com
    AU$169
35.0 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    AU$330
  • Agoda.com
35.0 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    AU$331
  • Agoda.com
35.3 km from Paxton Square Cottages
Free parking
View more hotels in Burra
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
48
47
22
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
48
47
22
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages bedroom cottage caravan park thick stone walls two singles slate floors perfect stay full kitchen interesting history bbq facilities air con reverse cycle hot weather lovely town the main street couple of days queen bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2022

Booked this accomodation on Bookings and specified we were a family of 2 adults and 3 children (12,10 and 10)
Asked if there was enough room in the two apartments? Answer was yes.
When we arrived, they gave us 2 seperate rooms - not connecting.
Would not help with trying to resolve the issue and just refused to acknowledge that as a “family with young children” you would want the rooms to be connected.

Blamed me and my booking - rather than actually being helpful and trying to resolve.

We ended up with 2 apartments well apart from each other.

The most unhelpful, stupid and useless people - who could not take the time to question the specifics of the requirement.
Anne, you were extremely rude and could not take note that when you book as a family, you want the accomodation as a family.
I will not be recommending this accomodation, because stupidly some people just don’t get it!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank danielagC9893TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2022

Would have made it a perfect stay if there hadn't been the stench of the previous holiday makers cooking. Just could not rid of the smell. Other than that, beautiful location, lovely rooms, comfortable and clean

Room tip: ask for the cottages that front Bridge Tce
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2022

Such cute refurbished cottages. These original 1800's miner cottages are so damn cute and some are dog friendly too. Couldn't find a better place to stay in my humble opinion. Dogs loved it too. The town of Burra has a lot to offer too.

Room tip: Our studio room had a well equipped kitchenette. The bedroom had one queen and two single beds
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MazzieJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2022 via mobile

We have stayed here twice and on each occasion have thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality. It’s a credit to the Regional Council of Goyder that they have supported this facility. Burra is full of interesting history, and the Heritage Pass is a must.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2022

Liked · Clean and centrally located
Disliked · Cold weather and heater struggled to warm the space - OK after a while
Thick stone walls and slate floors lovely in hot weather but so good in cold.
Grey decor and cold white lighting didn't add to the atmosphere. The back addition with bathroom wasn't heated and there was no door to insulate against cold air entering and no heating in the bathroom.
We had to go back to reception to get wifi code bc it wasn't provided when we arrived with attendant advising it might not work. It worked for us, but might not for all.

Room tip: Large complex: some cottages on the side street and others on main road; ask for side street if noise is an issue
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1land2ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews