We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food in gorgeous Auburn”
Review of Terroir Auburn

Terroir Auburn
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Auburn
Price range: AU$0 - AU$45
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: With a weekly changing menu, Terroir Auburn is a true representation of the seasons. All proteins sourced locally, fruits, vegetables and herbs are grown in the kitchen garden and local growers. Weekly changing menu consisting of 4 starters, 4 mains, and 3 desserts. A strong focus on locally grown wine varieties, with a small selection of comparison varieties sourced domestically and internationally. We buy small amounts of wine to make sure the wine list is constantly rolling over and staying relevant to what is happening wine & beer wise in the Clare Valley. Sitting a maximum of 35 people seated and up to 60 standing. Personally Customised packages available, starting from $45 for 2 Courses. Opened in 2012 by husband and wife team Dan & Annika Moss
Reviewed 14 January 2024 via mobile

My partner and I enjoyed a memorable meal at this gem of a restaurant. It is open for dinner 3-4 nights per week and if you are staying in the Clare Valley and enjoy beautifully cooked, fresh food, Terroir Auburn is a must. It is a set menu that allows for dietary requirements. The wine list is very good and service first class. All courses were astonishingly delicious and came in perfect portions. Moreover, for such exceptional quality, the price is very reasonable.

Highly recommended!!

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank PerryPTatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2023

What a splendid surprise. Could not fault the service or the food. Delighted in every each way. Would highly recommend this restaurant to any and everyone.

Dale

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dale d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2023 via mobile

We have had a few days in Clare and lucky enough to eat some absolutely amazing food so after many many local recommendations to eat at Terroir (especially for Wednesday's locals night) we did. Upon arriving (and seeing in through the window) I actually looked around the neighbouring buildings because I thought we were in the wrong place. My first impression was it looked like a casual Cafe, I think it was the lighting and particularly the large bright drinks fridge at the end of a service counter. Anyway we went inside and our greeting was warm.
I had the brassicas as the entree and it was obviously meant to be served cold and was delicious. For main I had lamb and lentils, while this was not fridge cold it was room temperature at best, I understand the lamb was probably well rested (as it was perfectly cooked) but the lentils were cold. I couldn't easily mention it to staff so ate it anyway. Dessert was semifreddo which was solid.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank jannine y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2023 via mobile

Stunning cottage beautifully appointed. The best bathroom we have had so far especially the shower. Very warm. Suite 1 and 2 superbly located in gorgeous garden. Quality coffee tea and other drinks on hand Very warm.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2023

My husband and I returned to Auburn solely to revisit Terroir Auburn over the weekend. We were not disappointed. We stayed in the beautiful accomodation on site and were very kindly upgraded upon arrival. Dinner was incredible. Truely we cannot fault this experience. From the moment we were greeted with the door opened for us to the last mouthful of an incredible dessert. I cannot recommend this experience enough. Thank you again Dan for such a great stay and incredible meal.

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank madeleineg878
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Terroir Auburn also viewed

Auburn, South Australia
Auburn, South Australia
 
Watervale, South Australia
Clare, South Australia
 

Been to Terroir Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.