We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value -- just have patience with the cheeseburger spring rolls!!”

The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: great country gastro Pub food. good meat dishes and crispy fish and chips. Wine list good.
Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

4/5 is possibly a little generous but 3/5 feels too low… so we’ll say the extra ‘point’ is given just out of wishful thinking that the girl at the bar might have been a little more enthusiastic and keen to make us feel at home…..next time maybe!?!?
We went for a quick lunch, chilled out on the balcony and received good generous serves of food at very good prices and with fast service. The cheeseburger spring rolls were fab!!!!! As a snack/entree they didn’t need to be served with chips as the three spring rolls in the serve were ‘voluptuous’ on their own 🤣 ….and hot hot hot 🔥 so very good so long as you have the patience to let them cool down first!!
Everything on the share platter went down a treat but for the pickled carrot - not nearly as pickled as the great zingy pickles themselves - if those are done in house, good job!!
As to the wines by the glass, our comment would be that the limited Claymore offering could be improved upon. The wines by the bottle list did seem pretty extensive though.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank LisaMDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2024

Great food and friendly service, we were here for a romantic couple of days exploring the region. This pub was an excellent dinner option for us

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

The seafood main meal had seafood straight from the freezer. Awful. My wife ordered the $40 steak and asked for extra salad in lieu of chips, but all they did was remove the chips (no extra salad). Steak was the size of a small hamburger pattie. For a country pub meal, it was like going to a shopping centre’s food court.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Chris911928
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2023

Ordered Lunch after 45 minutes asked when we would be fed. Response was that there had been a power outage and the kitchen was now cooking again. NOT what they told the next table (who were power workers) that excuse was the ticketing machine ran out of paper in the kitchen! When the meal arrived I had beef ribs I was unable to chew even a mouth full. I returned the meal and said I would just like my money back. - Owners response was the chef had a look and sad whilst the edges are burnt and dry the middle is edible!!!!

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2023

A terrific pub in a lovely town in the Clare Valley. Called in for lunch and were very impressed by the friendly service, the good menu options and the very reasonable cost. The food was absolutely delicious, delivered promptly and beautifully presented. The servings were all very generous and in fact the halloumi fries could’ve been a small meal in themselves. A most enjoyable experience and well worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 49Blackjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun Hotel also viewed

Auburn, South Australia
Auburn, South Australia
 
Watervale, South Australia
Sevenhill, South Australia
 

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.