We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub Great Meals”

The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: great country gastro Pub food. good meat dishes and crispy fish and chips. Wine list good.
Reviewed 26 October 2023

A terrific pub in a lovely town in the Clare Valley. Called in for lunch and were very impressed by the friendly service, the good menu options and the very reasonable cost. The food was absolutely delicious, delivered promptly and beautifully presented. The servings were all very generous and in fact the halloumi fries could’ve been a small meal in themselves. A most enjoyable experience and well worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 49Blackjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2023 via mobile

Visited the RSH on route to Adelaide from Broken Hill. I rang a few weeks prior to pay for our room before we got there and the person I spoke to said they had taken the payment. When we arrived,
We were told the room wasn’t paid for & they don’t take prepayment. The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant food was good. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was disappointing & the room in need of a really good clean.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank j0ev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2023

Locals suggested we try this Hotel for dinner and that it was a great meal. Sadly we were disappointed! went in mid afternoon to book a table as it was festival weekend. As it was quite cold and wet and being from QLD, we requested the table by the fire. We were told now problems. Come back later to eat and our table was the furtherest away from the fire. Staff were friendly and helpful, but obviously very overwhelmed. tow of the meals that came out were not what was ordered and when we asked for a substitute meal we were told they had none left of the seafood. Other meals were average - schnitzel was bland and over crumbed, Calamari was good though. The other meals seems rushed and the wait staff (very young) seemed flustered. Maybe the pressure form the festival affected this night but felt that the meals were on par to average. Reasonable cost but not up to scratch on this night.

Date of visit: May 2023
3  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2023

Really disappointing. Menu sounded so nice on line. Had prawns with garlic sauce and they were not tasty. The rice that was served with them was dry. Asked if salad came with the prawns and waitress said she didn't know but that she thought there were some vegetables in the rice. There weren't. On a plus, the oysters Kilpatrick were tasty - nice sauce and bacon and waitress was honest that they had been frozen.Other dishes we had were lamb skewers and barramundi. People who had the lamb skewers reported meat and barra not tasty and pita under the lamb was dried up and not able to be eaten. Over all the hotel is not as I remembered the quality as being a few years ago.
Service was friendly but unprofessional - clearing when people still eating, not knowing the menu and looking like they were about to sit down and binge watch Netflix.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GrandTour563578
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2023 via mobile

Service was well below average but in their defence they looked fresh out of primary school. Once we were seated we were told someone would be back to take our orders. We waited over 25mins to then be told by another young waitress ‘no you have to order and pay inside, we’ve had to many runners’ ok no problem glad we weren’t in a hurry though. The entree was actually delicious and the mains were decent enough but then came the dessert. Advertised as a chocolate brownie with berry compote and ice cream. Sounds delicious, unfortunately not! Arrived to the table with no berry compote so we asked for some, we were told ‘oh sorry we’ll bring some straight out’ thought it was odd both the chef and waitress didn’t realise it was missing a key element but all good….until a jug of cottees strawberry topping came out! I kid you not, kids strawberry ice cream topping and the brownie was so dry it wasn’t worth eating so we didn’t. Much better off travelling a little further to Watervale or Sevenhill hotels.

Date of visit: February 2023
2  Thank Ambrossia_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun Hotel also viewed

Auburn, South Australia
Auburn, South Australia
 
Watervale, South Australia
Sevenhill, South Australia
 

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.