We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
60
69
14
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
60
69
14
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clare valley the pub old world step back in time continental breakfast ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2022 via mobile

The rooms are adjacent to the hotel and are on keeping with the age of the campus. Gardens lovely and there is a grassed area at the rear which is nice to chill out on. The room isn’t large and certainly doesn’t have all the mod cons but isn’t trying to be that way either.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JenR772
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2021

Wow where do you start with this great place me and the wife stayed for one night 25 September 21 the the room was very clean bed was comfy and price was very reasonable. The food was great staff are amazing they all work so hard to please you. Mick thanks for a great night you really are a top bloke you should be proud of yourself and all your staff thank you for making our weekend a memorable one.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mick Guerin, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2021

Thankyou Glen for your fantastic comments .It was a pleasure to have you and your partner in our Pub and I hope one day you come back and we can carry on from where we left off .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2021

Stayed for a night in the Executive Mews Room. Very soft comfortable bed, lovely wood stove (got a bit hot in the night though) and good location. The bath could certainly do with having a coat of paint both to the exterior and interior.
Very friendly and helpful staff
We had dinner in the hotel and the food was delicious and plentiful --would love to have been able to fit in a dessert as they sounded very good.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank linday265
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night. Room was small but cosy and comfortable. Dinner was superb (oysters followed by lamb shanks/kangaroo steak) . Food was great and Ally and Mick's warm hospitality was exceptional. One thing is for sure- we will be back

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2021

We had the back Mews room, in old stables adjacent to Hotel. Quiet room as it was away from from the road. The bedroom had a bed and low cabinet ( with Bar fridge and tea & coffee and continental breakfast provisions inside) and TV on the top. No room for chair or wardrobe; 4 hooks behind the door for hanging. The ensuite was large, but shower curtain too short so the floor gets very wet. Split level heating in bedroom and electric blanket was necessary and appreciated on this cold winter's night. Breakfast difficult to eat in your room in winter (in summer/autumn you could sit outside on verandah - 2 chairs and small table) . WIFI does not work in any of the Mews rooms; only in the Hotel. Staff were courteous. Hotel Front bar lounge - with open fire, very cosy on a winter's night. Rooms are not expensive, so for a 1 night stay, is OK.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AdUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews