We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Wayne M
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Great food
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Sept 2020
Dropped in on Sunday night after booking one hour before on the way back from the Flinders Ranges. The food was beautiful - way better than we expected in a pub. It's not pub food - it's restaurant food! And the staff are super friendly - really good old fashioned country hospitality.
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Stable at Mellor's of Auburn Cafe and Accommodation
Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.0 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.1 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.2 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free parking
Spa
Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.1 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.3 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
General
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    AU$145
  • Agoda.com
18.9 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$360
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
19.4 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
63.5 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
28.2 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Auburn
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
60
69
14
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
60
69
14
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clare valley the pub old world step back in time continental breakfast ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed three plates from the entree menu as shared lunch for two. Serving sizes were generous, food was super tasty and you could tell a lot of love had gone into the preparation and flavours. A real find for GF diners as 90% of the menu was catered for this dietary intolerance, thanks Rising Sun! Service was friendly and efficient. Definitely stop in for a feed.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FuudTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2020

Had our last eating out pre Covid lunch here before lockdown the next day and it was sensational, just look at the photo..... and it tasted as good as it looked! Didn’t break the bank either. The lovely Ali also let us recharge our bike batteries so we could get back to Clare.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 651gregd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2020

My husband and I dined here a couple of times whilst staying in Auburn for a few days. We were quite impressed with the menu as there was plenty to choose from and the prices are reasonable. I ordered the chicken schnitzel with mushroom sauce and hubby ordered the porterhouse schnitzel with pepper sauce. The mains came with chips and a side serve of freshly made salad. Both of our main courses were delicious and the mushroom sauce which was home made with fresh mushrooms, cream and white wine was simply to die for. The next time we visited we had a dozen Kilpatrick Oysters to start with and for main course we both ordered Rump Steak. Again we were not disappointed. The steaks were lovely and tender, generous serves and freshly made salad. We can definitely recommend The Rising Sun Hotel for great food at reasonable prices and friendly staff. We look forward to returning when we are next in the Clare Valley.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KapoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2019

I stayed there with a colleague this week . We both booked rooms in the old pub building. Whilst they were slightly old, the rooms were extremely comfortable and clean. They have been done up. The bed was excellent and everything worked well. Shower was terrific. Towels thick and new.
We dined in the Pub restaurant. The food was just excellent.
We could not fault the whole experience. Compliments to the owners (Mick)and to their excellent support staff, Chloe.

This is a top place to stay and dine. One of the Best Value for Money country pubs I have experienced. Will be back.

I have already recommended Rising Sun to others.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2019 via mobile

Visited with friends after a day of wine tasting. Prompt friendly service. Good extensive menu.
Two of us had seafood three ways. (Calamari, Hake and prawn cones, chips and salad)
This was presented well, plentiful and extremely tasty. Also had lamb salad. Again plentiful and very tasty. One had a chicken schnitzel that was good but just cooked a little long. A little too crunchy around the edges. Sure it would be fine next time and there will be a next time.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Scotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews