We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
greg d
Adelaide, Australia

Better Sunday roast than ever.... even mum’s (sorry)

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Mar 2020
Had our last eating out pre Covid lunch here before lockdown the next day and it was sensational, just look at the photo..... and it tasted as good as it looked! Didn’t break the bank either. The lovely Ali also let us recharge our bike batteries so we could get back to Clare.
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Stable at Mellor's of Auburn Cafe and Accommodation
Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.0 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.2 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free parking
Spa
Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.1 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.3 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Auburn Shiraz Motel
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free parking
Pool
General
Booking.com
AU$132
  • Priceline
    AU$132
  • Expedia.com
    AU$121
  • Hotels.com
    AU$125
18.9 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$340
  • Hotels.com
    AU$445
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$334
  • Priceline
    AU$340
19.4 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
63.5 km from The Rising Sun Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Auburn
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
60
69
14
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
60
69
14
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clare valley the pub old world step back in time continental breakfast ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2020

My husband and I dined here a couple of times whilst staying in Auburn for a few days. We were quite impressed with the menu as there was plenty to choose from and the prices are reasonable. I ordered the chicken schnitzel with mushroom sauce and hubby ordered the porterhouse schnitzel with pepper sauce. The mains came with chips and a side serve of freshly made salad. Both of our main courses were delicious and the mushroom sauce which was home made with fresh mushrooms, cream and white wine was simply to die for. The next time we visited we had a dozen Kilpatrick Oysters to start with and for main course we both ordered Rump Steak. Again we were not disappointed. The steaks were lovely and tender, generous serves and freshly made salad. We can definitely recommend The Rising Sun Hotel for great food at reasonable prices and friendly staff. We look forward to returning when we are next in the Clare Valley.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KapoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2019

I stayed there with a colleague this week . We both booked rooms in the old pub building. Whilst they were slightly old, the rooms were extremely comfortable and clean. They have been done up. The bed was excellent and everything worked well. Shower was terrific. Towels thick and new.
We dined in the Pub restaurant. The food was just excellent.
We could not fault the whole experience. Compliments to the owners (Mick)and to their excellent support staff, Chloe.

This is a top place to stay and dine. One of the Best Value for Money country pubs I have experienced. Will be back.

I have already recommended Rising Sun to others.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2019 via mobile

Visited with friends after a day of wine tasting. Prompt friendly service. Good extensive menu.
Two of us had seafood three ways. (Calamari, Hake and prawn cones, chips and salad)
This was presented well, plentiful and extremely tasty. Also had lamb salad. Again plentiful and very tasty. One had a chicken schnitzel that was good but just cooked a little long. A little too crunchy around the edges. Sure it would be fine next time and there will be a next time.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Scotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2019

Wonderful lunch for 11 people on fathers day. Friendly helpful staff, reasonable selection of good quality pub food and great local wine and beer. A great place for groups or couples. Quick, efficient and sensible pricing

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Schoppy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2019

Sincere thanks to Chloe, Mick and the wonderful staff at The Rising Sun Hotel, for providing us with such high quality service, total professionalism and amazing hospitality. Food was exceptional. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank jenetsky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews