We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple food done well. Thank you for a lovely evening!”
Review of Casa Carboni

Casa Carboni
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Angaston
Price range: AU$16 - AU$25
Description: Casa Carboni, is a cooking school & enoteca established in 2012 by husband and wife team Matteo & Fiona Carboni. Matteo migrated to Australia from Italy in late 2011 with his Australian wife and their daughter Sofia and he fell in love with the Barossa Valley and particularly Angaston very quickly! The cooking school runs Thursdays, Saturdays & Sundays. The enoteca offers coffee & house made sweet treats on the weekend and a limited selection of hand made fresh pasta dishes for lunch Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Matteo offers his delicious chef's choice tasting menus for dinner Friday night & Sunday lunch. The enoteca also offers a curated selection of fine quality European wines as well as and imported & Australian made pantry goods, bags & homewares including knives & tableware
Restaurant details
Description: Casa Carboni, is a cooking school & enoteca established in 2012 by husband and wife team Matteo & Fiona Carboni. Matteo migrated to Australia from Italy in late 2011 with his Australian wife and their daughter Sofia and he fell in love with the Barossa Valley and particularly Angaston very quickly! The cooking school runs Thursdays, Saturdays & Sundays. The enoteca offers coffee & house made sweet treats on the weekend and a limited selection of hand made fresh pasta dishes for lunch Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Matteo offers his delicious chef's choice tasting menus for dinner Friday night & Sunday lunch. The enoteca also offers a curated selection of fine quality European wines as well as and imported & Australian made pantry goods, bags & homewares including knives & tableware
Reviewed 3 June 2023

This was definitely simple food that was done well. We had dinner which was chefs selection with a 6 course menu. Some of the dishes consisted on mussels on flatbread, chickpea and prawn broth, risotto with pipi's and ravioli. These were really beautifully cooked and enjoyable dishes. The pasta was my favourite!
The service was wonderful with staff able to give great wine recommendations as they were very knowledgeable. All in all a great night. Thank you!

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alisonn737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2023

The food was amazing. Simple ingredients made into a memorable meal. The pumpkin ravioli and gnocchi with white ragu were flavoursome. Please do yourself a favour and experience this wonderful cafe next time you are in the Barossa Valley.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bernadinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fiona Carboni, Owner at Casa Carboni, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2023

bernadinap thank you for your lovely comments, Fiona & Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2023 via mobile

Was very unsure what to expect, and was worried it would be hard to make pasta but it wasn't. Matteo was an amazing teacher and the small class made it very easy to learn. Can't wait to practice at home once we've found a pasta roller.
Highly reccomend anyone wanting to learn or have a different experience come here for a cooking class!

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fiona Carboni, Owner at Casa Carboni, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2023

Michelle C thank you so much for your kind words, we hope you have many years of delicious pasta making! Fiona & Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2022 via mobile

Best coffee on out trip so far, carefully made. Fiona offered local advice on things to do. Delicious nougat is a must buy

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank annemaried351
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CasaCarboni, Owner at Casa Carboni, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2022

thank you for your lovely comments, safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2021

We had an incredible time at the cooking class with Matteo, learning some valuable skills and enjoying some of the best produce and food we had in the Barossa. This was a highlight of our time in South Australia, and the company and local suggestions of Matteo and Fiona were fantastic as well.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank 785chadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Casa Carboni also viewed

Angaston, Barossa Valley
Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Casa Carboni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.