We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food taught by a professional ”
Review of Casa Carboni

Casa Carboni
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Angaston
Price range: AU$16 - AU$25
Description: Casa Carboni, is a cooking school & enoteca established in 2012 by husband and wife team Matteo & Fiona Carboni. Matteo migrated to Australia from Italy in late 2011 with his Australian wife and their daughter Sofia and he fell in love with the Barossa Valley and particularly Angaston very quickly! The cooking school runs Thursdays, Saturdays & Sundays. The enoteca offers coffee & house made sweet treats on the weekend and a limited selection of hand made fresh pasta dishes for lunch Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Matteo offers his delicious chef's choice tasting menus for dinner Friday night & Sunday lunch. The enoteca also offers a curated selection of fine quality European wines as well as and imported & Australian made pantry goods, bags & homewares including knives & tableware
Restaurant details
Description: Casa Carboni, is a cooking school & enoteca established in 2012 by husband and wife team Matteo & Fiona Carboni. Matteo migrated to Australia from Italy in late 2011 with his Australian wife and their daughter Sofia and he fell in love with the Barossa Valley and particularly Angaston very quickly! The cooking school runs Thursdays, Saturdays & Sundays. The enoteca offers coffee & house made sweet treats on the weekend and a limited selection of hand made fresh pasta dishes for lunch Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Matteo offers his delicious chef's choice tasting menus for dinner Friday night & Sunday lunch. The enoteca also offers a curated selection of fine quality European wines as well as and imported & Australian made pantry goods, bags & homewares including knives & tableware
Reviewed 28 March 2023 via mobile

Was very unsure what to expect, and was worried it would be hard to make pasta but it wasn't. Matteo was an amazing teacher and the small class made it very easy to learn. Can't wait to practice at home once we've found a pasta roller.
Highly reccomend anyone wanting to learn or have a different experience come here for a cooking class!

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fiona Carboni, Owner at Casa Carboni, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2023

Michelle C thank you so much for your kind words, we hope you have many years of delicious pasta making! Fiona & Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2022 via mobile

Best coffee on out trip so far, carefully made. Fiona offered local advice on things to do. Delicious nougat is a must buy

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank annemaried351
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CasaCarboni, Owner at Casa Carboni, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2022

thank you for your lovely comments, safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2021

We had an incredible time at the cooking class with Matteo, learning some valuable skills and enjoying some of the best produce and food we had in the Barossa. This was a highlight of our time in South Australia, and the company and local suggestions of Matteo and Fiona were fantastic as well.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank 785chadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2021

A wonderful 4 hour experience & a day we’ll never forget! COVID ruined our chance of a cooking class in Tuscany last year but after discovering & attending Matteo’s cooking class last week, it was as though we were there! Matteo & Fiona provide an authentic Italian experience in the heart of their own restaurant’s kitchen.
Matteo patiently & humorously demonstrated & guided us through the meticulous, hands-on preparation of 4 delicious courses from start to finish including: a baked zucchini flan; the lightest, fluffiest potato gnocchi you’ll ever taste, swimming in a divine beef Ragu that simmered for 2 & a half hours; THE most incredible ravioli stuffed with spinach & goat’s curd coated with a silky butter & sage sauce & for dessert, a mouthwatering baked panacotta... yum!!!!!
After we prepared the meals, they were all cooked & served to us in the last hour in the restaurant, paired with the most incredible Italian wines.
Preparing, kneading & rolling out our own pasta through the machine was a definite highlight of the day but learning so many cooking tips from an experienced chef like Matteo was invaluable.
Casa Carboni’s cooking class is a must-do activity when visiting the Barossa. We will certainly be spreading the word!
Thank you again Matteo & Fiona for an everlasting, memorable day.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank 894kellb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CasaCarboni, Owner at Casa Carboni, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2021

Ciao 894kellb, thank you it was an absolute pleasure! Happy cooking, Fi & Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2021 via mobile

We had been recommended this place by a local .

When we arrived there was a large cooking class going on which seemed to cause a big distraction to front of house . We ordered 2 pastries and 2 coffees - one with soy milk - the lady said she was out of soy milk and recommended we go next door for coffee ( what !!). I said but we have been recommended to you .

Anyhow she relented and sent a staff member to the shops to retrieve some milk .

When it all came out it was very good but I didn’t appreciate the attitude and you need to decide are you a cafe or a cooking school. Cause it’s very hard to do both well .

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank annedade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CasaCarboni, Owner at Casa Carboni, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2021

Hi annedade, I must apologise, however no where on our communications does it say we are a cafe. We are a cooking school & enoteca. and our signage does state that. Our "large" cooking class was/is 8 guests and yes they take priority first thing in the morning to have their coffee and cake before moving into the kitchen for their class. Sometimes there are a few things we need to sort out at the start, particularly with covid restrictions in place. We do offer coffee, tea & hot chocolate plus house made treats using the best local produce we can find on the weekends, however we have limited seating and cannot offer everything a cafe does.
I wasn't rude or unfriendly, just flat out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Carboni also viewed

Angaston, Barossa Valley
Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Casa Carboni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.