We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian cuisine + Fresh produce + Welcoming hosts = Great experience”
Review of Casa Carboni

Casa Carboni
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Angaston
Price range: AU$16 - AU$25
Description: Casa Carboni, is a cooking school & enoteca established in 2012 by husband and wife team Matteo & Fiona Carboni. Matteo migrated to Australia from Italy in late 2011 with his Australian wife and their daughter Sofia and he fell in love with the Barossa Valley and particularly Angaston very quickly! The cooking school runs Thursdays, Saturdays & Sundays. The enoteca offers coffee & house made sweet treats on the weekend and a limited selection of hand made fresh pasta dishes for lunch Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Matteo offers his delicious chef's choice tasting menus for dinner Friday night & Sunday lunch. The enoteca also offers a curated selection of fine quality European wines as well as and imported & Australian made pantry goods, bags & homewares including knives & tableware
Restaurant details
Description: Casa Carboni, is a cooking school & enoteca established in 2012 by husband and wife team Matteo & Fiona Carboni. Matteo migrated to Australia from Italy in late 2011 with his Australian wife and their daughter Sofia and he fell in love with the Barossa Valley and particularly Angaston very quickly! The cooking school runs Thursdays, Saturdays & Sundays. The enoteca offers coffee & house made sweet treats on the weekend and a limited selection of hand made fresh pasta dishes for lunch Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Matteo offers his delicious chef's choice tasting menus for dinner Friday night & Sunday lunch. The enoteca also offers a curated selection of fine quality European wines as well as and imported & Australian made pantry goods, bags & homewares including knives & tableware
Reviewed 1 March 2016

It's like stepping into a little Italian restaurant in Northern Italy.... The owners are very welcoming, the food is amazing, the ingredients are of the best quality. You can also book a cooking class there, or just pop in for a bite to eat. They also sell oils and vinegars and wines and few other things that you can take home.
We got a bottle of strawberry vinegar - it tastes great and adds interesting flavour to the salad :)

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OzTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2016

This place is so cute! I loved their wine glasses and their red wines on the menu were amazing!
We had one of everything from the menu to enlighten our taste buds and every bite was amazing.
The owner/chief himself would come out and bring it to us and have a chat with us, it was very welcoming and humbling for him to do so. We really enjoyed this.
We also then ran into him at the markets that are on Saturday mornings which he had recommended to us and he then also recommended us to specific people at the markets also. Just incredible people!
We really did feel like we were apart of the Barossa Valley family.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hayley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CasaCarboni, Owner at Casa Carboni, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Ciao Hayley and thanks for posting your lovely review on Tripadvisor about your Friday night wine bar experience at Casa Carboni. The Barossa Farmers Market is the main reason we decided to relocate to Angaston instead of Melbourne and is the hub of our community.
Safe travels,
Fiona & Matteo Carboni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Amazing experience. Beautiful display and fabulous fresh produce quality with a direct view into the kitchen!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Scriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

I would highly recommend this little gem, it is the best Italian I have ever eaten outside of Italy, so fresh and light and just yummy!!!! 😀😀

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank TessW992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I love this cafe I've had coffee and cake there; I've done a cooking class there; I've been to two 'Sabato Sera' dinners. I just realised I haven't been to a Friday night wine bar - going to have to rectify that. The food is delicious, atmosphere lovely. Matteo's classes are an experience and inspiring. When I can't be bothered cooking I now whip up a batch of fresh pasta! Honestly, it's always lovely visiting Fiona and Matteo. It really does feel like home.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Casa Carboni also viewed

Angaston, Barossa Valley
Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Casa Carboni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.