We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't stop going back!”
Review of Casa Carboni

Casa Carboni
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Angaston
Price range: AU$16 - AU$25
Description: Casa Carboni, is a cooking school & enoteca established in 2012 by husband and wife team Matteo & Fiona Carboni. Matteo migrated to Australia from Italy in late 2011 with his Australian wife and their daughter Sofia and he fell in love with the Barossa Valley and particularly Angaston very quickly! The cooking school runs Thursdays, Saturdays & Sundays. The enoteca offers coffee & house made sweet treats on the weekend and a limited selection of hand made fresh pasta dishes for lunch Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Matteo offers his delicious chef's choice tasting menus for dinner Friday night & Sunday lunch. The enoteca also offers a curated selection of fine quality European wines as well as and imported & Australian made pantry goods, bags & homewares including knives & tableware
Restaurant details
Description: Casa Carboni, is a cooking school & enoteca established in 2012 by husband and wife team Matteo & Fiona Carboni. Matteo migrated to Australia from Italy in late 2011 with his Australian wife and their daughter Sofia and he fell in love with the Barossa Valley and particularly Angaston very quickly! The cooking school runs Thursdays, Saturdays & Sundays. The enoteca offers coffee & house made sweet treats on the weekend and a limited selection of hand made fresh pasta dishes for lunch Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Matteo offers his delicious chef's choice tasting menus for dinner Friday night & Sunday lunch. The enoteca also offers a curated selection of fine quality European wines as well as and imported & Australian made pantry goods, bags & homewares including knives & tableware
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I love this cafe I've had coffee and cake there; I've done a cooking class there; I've been to two 'Sabato Sera' dinners. I just realised I haven't been to a Friday night wine bar - going to have to rectify that. The food is delicious, atmosphere lovely. Matteo's classes are an experience and inspiring. When I can't be bothered cooking I now whip up a batch of fresh pasta! Honestly, it's always lovely visiting Fiona and Matteo. It really does feel like home.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

This place by far has the best coffee in the Barossa valley ! Lovely setting and amazing gourmet foods to purchase ! The chocolate coated hazelnuts are out of this world !

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank EnjoyingwinewithDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile

This lovely couple are doing something different and you should take the time in Angaston to stop in and say hello. Listen to their story. Enjoy the coffee. And have a meal from the limited but fresh daily menu. It's different. And a great cheese shop just next door!

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank tav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CasaCarboni, Owner at Casa Carboni, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Ciao tav007 was great to see you again and we hope you and your friends enjoyed your dinner at Ferment!
Many thanks for posting this review.
Fiona & Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

The owners of this cool bar and restaurant make this venue worth stopping at and supporting. They have some really interesting Italian produce and wines. You can drop in for a drink and share some tasting plates, or stay longer for dinner. Excellent service and food. The owners are charming.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Svensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CasaCarboni, Owner at Casa Carboni, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Grazie mille Svensky, was great to meet you all and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the Barossa Valley! Matteo & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Just had a memorable dinner, sat outside due to the inside being full, it didn't matter as it was a pleasant night. Very freindly service, great explanation of the food and wine. I have a seafood allergy, so they were willing to change the dishes to accommodate me.
Food was devine, wine to match. If you make to Angaston definitely put it on your agenda.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gonz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CasaCarboni, Owner at Casa Carboni, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2015

Grazie mille Gonz65 for your company on Friday night and we appreciate your lovely comments. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your weekend in the Barossa. Fiona & Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Carboni also viewed

Angaston, Barossa Valley
Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Casa Carboni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.