We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and little choice menu”

Wanera Wine Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Angaston
Price range: AU$20 - AU$40
Cuisines: Australian, International, Wine Bar
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 8 April 2024

We were there for a Sunday lunch as couples extended family, 9 of us. The main courses was a limited menu, a choice of only 7 main meals on the menu, two of those were hamburgers. The surrounding are beautiful and spacious, staff were helpful and service was good. This review is regretful though, it was too costly for what we were given. Half of our group had hamburgers and chips because the rest of the menu was $37-$ 45 it did not give enough choice. Kangaroo and Pork Belli were there which are not widely acceptable, so the choice of food was limited. Two people had steak and kangaroos which was ample serving and they liked it but were likely priced too high.

Burgers were too pricy at $30, the bread burger bread was so small and not much could fit in, cold fries. My own food I ordered was Baramundi and cost $40 .. it was buried high in red capsicum and tomatoes, when I found it! The fish was only 10 cms square! I would say nicely cooked but proportional to the vegetable was miserable.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 875sheilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2024

The garden setting out the back is a perfect backdrop for a delicious meal. The service was pleasant. Suitable for families - I saw high chairs.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank AJWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2023

This was our lunch stop on cellar door tours. Beautiful little wine bar in the heart of town. we were given a great grazing platter to start with then a choice of lunches. A couple of us had food requirement and staff went above and beyond to make sure we had an amazing lunch. totally recommend this place for its service and quality of food.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gc g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2023

We liked the online menu and my wife was looking forward to the advertised Brie Filled Sage Chicken Breast. We started with spring rolls and cheese pear and nut salad which was delicious. The main courses were beautiful presented and both the steak and chicken were well cooked, however, there was NO Brie, no Sage and the chicken which did not seem to be breast was not filled with anything. The waitress was polite and said there were too many people and sometimes the chicken was cut wrongly. Not really a satisfactory result - the Brie and Sage filling was the reason for choosing the restaurant. So don’t count on this dish at least - especially if there are a lot of people. recommendation? Check the dish before presenting it - or take this one off the menu if it’s so difficult. Steak and wine were a perfect match.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2023 via mobile

Fabulous food and brilliant wine list. The dining room is comfortable and staff are superb. Loved every minute here and thoroughly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank LuckyPhil1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Wanera Wine Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Angaston, Barossa Valley
Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Wanera Wine Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.