We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wine Tour”

Barossa Epicurean Tours
Ranked #2 of 5 Tours in Angaston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the famous Barossa Valley, Clare Valley, McLaren Vale or Adelaide Hills wineries and special places of interest in the luxury of late model, air conditioned passenger vehicles. Relax and enjoy internationally acclaimed award winning wine and regional food on personally tailored tours to suit individual needs in our Volkswagen luxury tourer( maximum 6). Whilst having recently changed owners, Tom and Tracy are confident that Barossa Epicurean Tours remains proudly family owned and operated and offers exceptional customer service.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wine Tour”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We spent a day each in 3 different wine regions near Adelaide with Tom and his company as guides. We had been told it would be a small group each day, in fact it was just my wife and I. We had no specific wineries in mind so Tom selected the wineries for tasting. We had excellent lunches each day and saw different sites and towns since we didn't want to just taste all day long. They were very agreeable and tailored the schedule according to our interests. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Merrill55435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An amazing day”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

As I looked at the range of wineries in the Barossa I knew I would not be able to locate the gems for myself and would need some help. Tom was an amazing source of information, and managed to cater two very different tastes in wine between two different couples on the day.

We managed to visit a couple of major wineries in the morning and then an afternoon of discovery at finding great boutique wineries. I only wished we had more of Tom's time for an extended visit to the area.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fun filled day of Barossa's best!”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My husband and I were looking for a personalised tour which could show us some of the best and boutique wineries of the Barossa. After making a few calls it soon became clear that Barossa Epicurean Tours was the one for us - a couple of other places that couldn't help also recommended them.

Tom was very helpful on the initial phone call, then followed up promptly with an email confirmation and an offer to book a lunch venue for us.

On the day, he picked us up from our accommodation in a very comfortable, air conditioned Chrysler mini-bus vehicle (their other transport is a Holden Statesman). We shared the vehicle (and tour) with only one other couple.

Once we were all on board, Tom asked us where we would like to go - the schedule was totally flexible. He has been in the Barossa for 20+ years with his wife Tracy, working in the wine industry and operating tours, and is highly knowledgeable in what the Barossa has to offer.

We managed to fit in 3 wineries before lunch (Hentley Farm, Murray St, Torbreck - all wonderful), then we sat down for a delicious al fresco lunch at 1918 in Tanunda. Food and service were top notch. In the afternoon, we visited another 3 wineries and the Angaston cheese shop before being dropped back to the door of our accommodation.

Thank you Tom for a very enjoyable day in the Barossa.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank steakman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,277 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Best Way to See the Barossa!”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We did two, full-day private tours with Tom as our driver, and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience (both the experience of wine tasting in the Barossa and Tom's service)! It was expensive, but worth it -- not only do you not have to worry about driving, but you can draw on Tom's extensive knowledge of the area, its history, its wineries, and his relationships with the winemakers and their staff. We left feeling as if full value had been provided for the expense.

Setting everything up was really easy -- they were very fast with e-mail responses and all of the details were very clear. Pick-up was right on-time. Tom asked for any preferences we had regarding wineries (we had a small list) as well as varietals. He did a great job of creating a meaningful, fun two-day itinerary based on what we'd requested and his own knowledge. We were very appreciative that he even arranged private tours at a couple of places that did not have public cellar doors.

Tom's car is in good condition; it was a comfortable ride.

I thought Tom did a good job of balancing conversation -- he wasn't intrusive, but he was happy to share his very extensive knowledge of the area, which we really enjoyed. Despite his clearly extensive knowledge of wine and the region, he was able to share his knowledge in an accessible way that assumed no extensive knowledge on the part of his guests!

Overall, our two days spent in the Barossa were a highlight of our trip to Australia. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Perfect Tour”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We were looking to have a more personal tour in the Barossa to the boutique wineries. The full day tour with Tom was exactly what we had hoped for. Great personal attention, has excellent knowledge of wines and the area, and was able get in to the premium producers. Also managed to fit in great spot for lunch (including kangaroo), a stop at Maggie Beer's shop and some cheese tasting. As others have commented, Tom knows all the right people at the wineries and we had generally private tastings. Delightful day and would gladly recommend Tom and his tours to anyone looking for a more individual experience.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank cpetemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barossa Epicurean Tours also viewed

 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Nuriootpa, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Barossa Epicurean Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing