We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dissapointment to our otherwise excellent tour.”
Review of Jardine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thursday Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jardine Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thursday Island
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Room number 4 is on the ground floor right next to the kitchen, which is noisy from very early to very late. The room was not clean & the ceiling mouldy. The small room air conditioner was too noisy to sleep by. The room also overlooks the pool with deckchairs right outside so other's conversations are overheard, especially when alcohol is involved. There was one staff who had only been on the Island since that morning & only on the job for 3 hours - knew very little. The only other wait staff had only been there three days & knew very little. The staff in charge of supplies had gone on holidays. There was one chef & no other kitchen staff, so he did a remarkable job considering. Our group of 19 plus about the same number of other guests had a long night of waiting. Our group leader assisted by tiding the empty plates away. There are other places of accommodation on the Island

Room Tip: Rooms at the hotel further along the road would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front_Office_04, Guest Relations Manager at Jardine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

A pool view being presented as if it were a negative.
Congratulations! You break new ground with that piece of logic.

Alas for your review, the tour operator has no record of you. Furthermore the tour operator's recollections (in writing) differ markedly from the account you give.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2016

I liked the Jardine - the rooms were open, and clean and I did not feel closed in like some motels. The bed and pillows were comfy, and toiletries were provided. Sure it was no five star hotel, but the staff were friendly and I felt safe and secure. What more could you ask for in such an idylic setting. I had a seconf floor room, which was great. There is no lift, so if you find stairs tricky, ask for a ground floor room.

The restaurant was good, wiith fresh food, good size serves, and a bar with cocktails :) I had dinner and breakfast here, and cannot complain.

I was only here the one night, so cannot comment if the rooms are serviced daily.

Room Tip: Beware there is no lift to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WomanfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this motel for two nights, as part of a tour. The room was basic, and could use a refurb, but the bed was comfy, and the space adequate. A nice touch was providing separate towels in the room for the pool. This made it easy to enjoy an afternoon swim. The pool itself is small, but in a nice setting- palm trees and a little rock waterfall. The sun lounges do need to be fixed or replaced though.

One concern was the high step into the shower, which wouldn't be suitable for certain guests.

The location was great, right on the waterfront, good for a pleasant walk along the boardwalk. The cultural centre and the two churches (worth visiting) are close by too.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank flapjack_the_puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Jardine motel has charged me an extra $649.60 on top of the $142 they charged me for my room for one night. I've sent numerous emails to them to return it, but they keep refusing to return it, denying they've made the 2 charges.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed a night at the Jardine Motel on Thursday Island recently. What’s to say? It’s clean, quiet, basic motel standards that you would expect anywhere in the world, location is excellent right on the water, the restaurant serves decent enough food and we got a good night sleep there. Try it for yourself but we liked it just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank JGDynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thursday Island
0.3 km away
Island Villas
Island Villas
#1 of 1 in Thursday Island
25 reviews
3.3 km away
Wongai Beach Hotel
Wongai Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horn Island
34 reviews
39 km away
Cape York Peninsula Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardine Motel

Address: Normanby St / Victoria Pde, Thursday Island, Queensland 4875, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Thursday Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thursday Island
Also Known As:
Jardine Hotel Thursday Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing