We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Thursday Islad tours

did a day visit. got a good taste of the history and WW2. went to Horn island and visited the... read more

Reviewed 29 August 2017
Mike G
,
Sydney, Australia
Great experience

My times on peddells have always been a pleasure, great helpful staff and good facilities on board... read more

Reviewed 31 May 2017
gregga2351
,
Cairns, Australia
via mobile
Read all 37 reviews
  
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
19
11
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
11
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry ride day trip hill fort horn cemetery history torres boats
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

did a day visit. got a good taste of the history and WW2.
went to Horn island and visited the history of the island and it's place in WW2

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeddellsTITours, Guest Relations Manager at Peddells -Thursday Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we love to hear about visitors' experiences.

Thursday Island has a inspiring history. The Pearling, Shipping, Military and Cultural history in the Torres Strait will surprise and fascinate visitors to this region. The Green Hill Fort Museum allows you to experience a taste of Old TI and take in the magnificent views of the surrounding islands. A camera is a must!

Join our Thursday Island Bus Tour and enjoy an entertaining and educational commentary along the way with our expert local guides. We will shout you into the museum!

Esso (Thankyou)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

My times on peddells have always been a pleasure, great helpful staff and good facilities on board. Very pleasant i highly recommend

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank gregga2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeddellsTITours, Guest Relations Manager at Peddells -Thursday Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed you Thursday Island experience. We aim to make your experience a memorable one. We hope to see your next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

We did a 90 minute tour with Peddells after going over from the tip to the island on their ferry which was fast and efficient. We were given a discount for seniors
The tour took us to the war history museum and the pearl divers graves . As we drove around we were given some great history. The tour guide was very knowledgable

I felt the price was a bit expensive for a 90 minute tour, however we did enjoy the tour and our time on the island. . Well worth a visit

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeddellsTITours, Guest Relations Manager at Peddells -Thursday Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Our Thursday island Bus Tour is one of our most popular tours. Our tour guides are extremely knowledgeable in the history and culture of the Torres Strait.
Our 90 minute bus tour, which includes entry into the museum, is $32. Children are half price. The views of the surrounding islands from Green Hill Fort are amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Port to the Fort, via cemetery and churches.
The fort and the lookout was excellent.
However at $40 pp it was outrageously expensive.
Suggest getting a taxi to the Fort for about $10 and do your own thing.
It is a shame that some companies bite the hand that feeds the !

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeddellsTITours, Guest Relations Manager at Peddells -Thursday Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, it a valuable source for Peddells Ferry Service to provide the best possible service we can Our bus tour of Thursday Island is $32 per adult, 1/2 price for children and children under 5 are free of charge.This also includes entry into the museum.
We also provide a comprehensive commentary by local guides who have over 25 years experience and knowledge of the Torres Strait.
Green Hill Fort and the museum are often said to be the highlight of the trip to Thursday Island. The views of the surrounding islands are truly breathtaking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

this tour was a day trip very informative,it also included Horn Island & museum's on both Islands highly recommend doing this tour if travelling to Cape York

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeddellsTITours, Guest Relations Manager at Peddells -Thursday Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

We are so happy that you enjoyed your time in the Torres Strait. We recommend booking these tours early as they are very popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews