We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ipswich’s hidden, gem.”

The Cottage Restaurant, Ipswich, QLD
Ranked #12 of 353 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: AU$14 - AU$42
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 December 2023

My husband and I were celebrating his retirement. We had the degustation menu with the matching wines. Absolute top marks. Everything was perfect. I couldn’t fault anything, and I am particular with food!The food was divine. Absolutely fabulous night. The service was perfect as well. Such a fantastic restaurant. An absolute hidden gem for Ipswich .
We’ve been numerous times and will definitely keep coming back.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patterson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2023

We arrived at 7pm and gave our booking name. Apparently there were two bookings with the same name that evening. However the woman who greeted us did not appear to understand this, noting she was rude, impatient and dismissive. She accused us of booking two tables (which we didn’t) and this was a problem as the restaurant was apparently fully booked out. This did not make my husband and I feel very welcome at all. Fortunately we weren’t paying for the dinner as we had received a gift voucher from a relative. We ordered, ate and left. Never again…

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2023

An absolutely charming and cosy cottage. Nicely laid tables, formally trained waiters and an innovative and interesting menu. Two small rooms and the verandah. Intimate and not squashed. We selected the Duck Pate and Lavosh to share. Generous amount of lavish home made with sesame seeds on them. Pate was just perfect, not too strong, just lovely. Husband moved onto the Quail which he said was very tasty, he then had the Rabbit which was rolled with a filling and baked. I had chosen the smoked sirloin, cooked perfectly and served with cauliflower patties and a lovely cheese sauce. We finished off sharing the Fig Turnovers with ice cream. Very nice indeed. Had a perfectly made espresso martini, Prosecco and husband enjoyed his shiraz. A great night. Well worth the drive from Brisbane. Easy parking.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2023

We travelled over an hour to have lunch and it was well worth it. The restaurant is in a quaint Queenslander built in 1861 so has a really nice atmosphere. The food was exquisite as was the wine & service. Would thoroughly recommend it.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2023

I was blown away by how wonderful the whole experience was. The food was first class and the service was amazing. Highly recommend

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant, Ipswich, QLD also viewed

 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant, Ipswich, QLD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.