We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

The Cottage Restaurant, Ipswich, QLD
Ranked #12 of 353 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: AU$14 - AU$42
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 May 2023

I was blown away by how wonderful the whole experience was. The food was first class and the service was amazing. Highly recommend

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2023 via mobile

The food was excellent, drinks superb and service was outstanding.

Date night just got classy. The converted Queenslander was a little difficult to get to as its on the side of a hill and we had to climb some steep stairs to get up to the restaurant but once there the servers were quick to see to our needs and were happy to answer questions and provide excellent wine pairings with each dish I ordered.
The balcony seating was gorgeous. Menus were printed on thick vellum with beautiful leather binders, service was discreet and prompt. The price tag was on the high end but this place was a welcome change from the usual pub fare available in ipswich. To find somewhere this amazing locally was a relief from having to travel into Brisbane for a comparable experience. Definitely going to go back again

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank JenniferJean79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2022 via mobile

The cottage Ipswich a wonderful experience
Our third visit to this gem for a special celebration..
Entrees many to choose from
( my favourite mushroom cuppacino with truffle oil)
Mains and deserts change with seasons
Surprises for you to discover
Excellent wine list
Helpful very pleasant host Angela and staff
Mark a world class creative Chef in kitchen
Do try..
Dark Chocolate Marquise
As the finale

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank waytogo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2022 via mobile

Excellent service, amazing food options, kids menu was available, wine & setting next to fire place was beautiful. Highly recommend

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank C873DNrachelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2022

We read all the awesome reviews so we thought we would spend our anniversary. The settling is very beautiful the old Queenslander is a beautiful well set out house. The senior waitperson greeted us with a very friendly smile and disposition, even offered a sparkling drink to start the night with.

Then it went south from their, the young waitperson's where well presented but their knowledge of the menu was not up too scratch, we ordered a mushroom cappuccino which was to die for, the home made linguini was very dry with too much rock salt used which overpowered the flavour of the whole delicate dish, we then ordered our mains of seared 72 hour brisket and seared medium rare sirloin, the sirloin was medium to well and not the tenderest of cuts and the brisket was eventually penetrated by our knife and fork with a lot of extreme pressure ( I thought brisket was meant to fall apart, our mistake), our other main was the market fresh fish with pippies, mussels and pappardelle pasta. The barra was cooked beautifully, but the mussels and pippies were both cold, the accompanying sides were meant to be a potato dish which never came to our table and caprese salad except the salad was coles sliced tomatoes with thick large squares of a soft cheese, olive oil and parsley. All and all from our view very disappointing, unfortunely.

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne686868
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant, Ipswich, QLD also viewed

 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant, Ipswich, QLD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.