We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Priceline
AU$157
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
mrdom
Perfect B&B and cheaper than most hotels
Review of Cumquat House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jan 2022via mobile
Absolutely beautiful B&B in a historic house a kilometre south of the town centre (in a residential and hotel district, very little around except nice parks and bush, although I was able to get a bus directly to the train museum). Nice rooms with sitting area and balcony, basic but functional bathroom, good wifi, basic breakfast with the addition of a nice egg tart.
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
10.0 km from Cumquat House
Front verandah
1.0 km from Cumquat House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room
0.2 km from Cumquat House
Free parking
Pool
0.1 km from Cumquat House
2.8 km from Cumquat House
BW Ipswich Sign
0.2 km from Cumquat House
Free Wifi
Pool
1.3 km from Cumquat House
5.0 km from Cumquat House
1.2 km from Cumquat House
1.3 km from Cumquat House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ipswich
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
43
3
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
3
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews egg tarts personal touch peter kumquat ensuite cereal accommodation bnb tv wifi curtains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2021

After a bad experience with a B&B some years ago, I was reluctant to stay at one again. However Marie and Peter made up for that in spades. The property is an old era design but well set up and in a very quite location. You can acutely just keep to yourself if you want. The ensuite sold us. Close to restaurants, etc. Breakfast and service was great. The hosts were great, not wishy washy, just normal people.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RnR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2021

We had a lovely stay for two night, breakfast was great, the gentleman was absolutely amazing until the old lady abused us because of the state of our bed because my husband had a medical condition and sweats a lot while asleep she abused us on the way out because of the sheet were dirty, wow !!!! Never coming back and won’t recommend to anyone !!!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ambervioletr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peter adams, Owner at Cumquat House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2021

Hi.
Thank you for your personal and quiet unjust review in the true circumstances of this matter.
As owner operators WE had NOT been advised as to the condition of this person and our bedding is of a high standard.
ALL our linen ,blanket and four pillows had to be destroyed.
A phone call could have been made to advise and this could have been rectified , our older linen could have been used.
This is all in the name of hygiene for all our guests to enjoy the room after you.
Peter and Marie Adams
Cumquat House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021 via mobile

Stayed here on our way south. Such a delightful find. Old world charm and beautifully decorated. Fantastic price and friendly hosts, Peter and Marie. We arrived late and they were so gracious. We stayed in the Woodford room which was lovely. A special touch was the home made cookies along with the coffee pod machine. Scrumptious continental breakfast with a hot treat. Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Redaly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peter adams, Owner at Cumquat House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Hi.
Thank you for your excellent review
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cumquat and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards.
Marie and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2020 via mobile

Marie and peter know how to run a top notch b&b.from the warm greeting to a clean,comfortable room with room to spread out and a king size bed with quality bedding,awesome wifi,room treats,capsule coffee,great breakfast.
What more could you ask for a warm overnight winter stay.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LionelF489
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peter adams, Owner at Cumquat House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Hi Lionel.
Thank you for your great review it is much appreciated .
We may see you again when next visiting Ipswich
Kind regards.
Marie and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019

Simply one of the nicest, cleanest, most comfortable, beautiful, warm, welcoming, there are not enough superlatives to describe our stay here. The hosts, Marie and Peter have created a haven.We had one of the best nights sleep ever - they have not stinted on expense to ensure the weary traveller gets rest - a superb king size mattress and choice of pillows, high thread count sheets, range of coverings and blinds and sweeping curtains to ensure darkness. With an adjoining sitting room, a balcony and ensuite the room was spacious and tastefully furnished. Breakfast is included in the rate and was fresh, home made and delicious - patic the 3 cheese pie. Guests can use the lounge room, dining room and kitchen and outdoor BBQ on the balcony during their stay. Peter and Marie have thought of everything and are extremely helpful, friendly and professional. They are the epitome of hospitality at its best.
Do yourself a favour and stay at Cumquat House. Simply superb.

Date of stay: September 2019
2  Thank Bouffer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peter adams, Owner at Cumquat House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

WELL,, Wow Wow Wow what an excellent review and thank you for covering many of the finer details of Cumquat.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards.
Marie and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews