We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
AU$157
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Bouffer9
Gold Coast, Australia

Superb - stylish 5 star haven

Review of Cumquat House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Sept 2019
Simply one of the nicest, cleanest, most comfortable, beautiful, warm, welcoming, there are not enough superlatives to describe our stay here. The hosts, Marie and Peter have created a haven.We had one of the best nights sleep ever - they have not stinted on expense to ensure the weary traveller gets rest - a superb king size mattress and choice of pillows, high thread count sheets, range of coverings and blinds and sweeping curtains to ensure darkness. With an adjoining sitting room, a balcony and ensuite the room was spacious and tastefully furnished. Breakfast is included in the rate and was fresh, home made and delicious - patic the 3 cheese pie. Guests can use the lounge room, dining room and kitchen and outdoor BBQ on the balcony during their stay. Peter and Marie have thought of everything and are extremely helpful, friendly and professional. They are the epitome of hospitality at its best.
Do yourself a favour and stay at Cumquat House. Simply superb.
Date of stay: September 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peter adams, Owner at Cumquat House, responded to this review
Responded 4 Mar 2021
WELL,, Wow Wow Wow what an excellent review and thank you for covering many of the finer details of Cumquat.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards.
Marie and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Cumquat House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Cumquat House
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 Bedroom View
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Cumquat House
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
16.1 km from Cumquat House
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Front verandah
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
1.0 km from Cumquat House
Free Wifi
Free parking
BW Ipswich Sign
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$320
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Cumquat House
Free Wifi
Pool
Executive Suite Bedroom
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$265
  • Algotels
16.2 km from Cumquat House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
30.4 km from Cumquat House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
10.0 km from Cumquat House
View more hotels in Ipswich
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
43
3
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
3
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews egg tarts personal touch peter kumquat ensuite cereal accommodation bnb tv wifi curtains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

Cumquat cottage has been owned & run by Peter & Marie for 21 years, so they know how to look after you! There are 6 en-suite rooms that are very comfortable! The breakfast the next morning was an unexpected treat! This is a little gem in Ipswich!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peter adams, Owner at Cumquat House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Hi Rosemary.
Thank you for your excellent review , we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cumquat.
Kind regards.
Marie and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

Located a short walk (<10 min) from the Ipswich CBD, this B&B is a welcome and cost friendly change from the motel options nearby. Only having five guest suites, you are greeted with a personal touch. The breakfast was excellent!

Thanks Marie & Peter. We will see you next time we are in town.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shaun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2019

1914 was a good year for Ipswich - that’s when Cumquat House was built according to the plaque out front. There’s just enough modern appointments to make it as comfortable as any hotel in the city, but there’s the added bonus of gorgeous turn-of-the-century touches and bric-a-brac to give it that point-of-difference that makes it well worth the stay. When the ad said “breakfast included” we were expecting a sideboard with a bit of fruit, muesli and a coffee machine - but no. Marie treated us to a lovely breakfast - not too light, not too heavy (tip: try the hot filo and egg tarts). We were lucky enough to have a lovely breakfast couple to chat with, along with Marie’s friendly conversation in the stately dining room which is full of interesting old domestic crockery and a collection of eclectic artwork. Peter is also fabulous. He greeted us warmly and we loved that the milk and water were in refillable containers (great for the environment). All in all, this felt like going to have a sleepover with my grandparents. We’ll be back.

Room tip: The Rockwell Suite has a big balcony and great views
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peter adams, Owner at Cumquat House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Hi Lisa.
Wow, you have really enjoyed your stay at Cumquat ,thank you so much for all the detail it is much appreciated
We may see you again .
Kind regards.
Marie and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2019 via mobile

Historical B & B with beautifully appointed rooms, some with balcony. All rooms have ensuite, TV, air con, ceiling fans,tea/coffee - even espresso machines with a homely touch of homemade biscuits. You can't fault the breakfast and exceptional service provided by owners Peter and Marie.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank susanglen2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peter adams, Owner at Cumquat House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Hi Susan.
Thank you for your fantastic review and we hope to see you again at Cumquat.
Kind regards.
Marie and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2019

On arrival we were greeted by Peter. Extremely helpful and friendly. Explained everything that we needed to know and showed us to our room. Extremely well appointed and had all the comforts of home. Very large bedroom with separate sitting area which leads out onto enclosed private balcony. Off Bedroom was bathroom toilet en-suite. Room had a reverse cycle air conditioning which was very quiet in operation and appreciated with the cold spell. Breakfast was continental but was anything but ordinary. We then met the other half of this excellent team Marie which is the wife of Peter. What a delight as she was as welcoming and warm as Peter. Very natural and pleasant to talk to and very knowledgeable about the town of Ipswich and surrounding areas. Breakfast was served with minimal fuss and attention to details was on show. My wife and I had a bowl of the very freshest fruit of which there was a large selection. We then delighted in a magnificent freshly cooked 3 cheese pastry quiche which just melted in the mouth. After that we had a fresh pot of tea and toast. Just the start to the day any person could wish for. Would highly recommend staying at this accommodation over any other B&B in the area. Would love to have had more time to stay and will definitely be back when next in Queensland. Would recommend booking early to avoid missing out.

Room tip: All rooms are on top floor and very quiet.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
petera4858, Owner at Cumquat House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2019

Hi to you both.
WOW, Peter and I appreciate your excellent review.
We are pleased that your stay at Cumquat was enjoyable and we look forward to having you stay with us again when visiting your Family in Ipswich.
Kind regards.
Marie and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews