We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
26
27
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
27
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape yorkbusiness tripsmooth operationqueenslandmealstipsupermarkettoursfishingferrybonusbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We had 3 nights at CYPL - excellent accommodation and a fantastic highlight was a 4 WD trip to the Tip of Australia with local guide, Gordon. We were thrilled to hear about his culture and country while he showed us the sights and told us the history and experiences of the local people. Learning about bush tucker, fishing and traditional medicine was fascinating. The staff at the lodge and restaurant went out if their way to make us welcome. A dip in the lovely pool was a wonderful way to end each day.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mirrilong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki A, Manager at Cape York Peninsula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Dear Mirrilong,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Top of Australia.
Private touring is our latest venture and our local guide Gordon is truly exceptional.
We are fortunate to have such a professional team here at the Lodge, who go out of their way to ensure a memorable stay for our clients.
I will pass on your feedback to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in May. The service was excellent; from the pick up at the airport, to the check in, to the restaurant, to assisting with organising tours. The food is excellent in the Paperbark Restaurant and we enjoyed our cocktail outside each night before dinner. All the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Highly recommend. We did a fishing / Thursday/Horn Island tour (1 tour) and a 4wd tour to the tip and nearby beaches with John Charlton tours (Anthony and Ray - they were excellent !). Whilst it is pricey it was worth it. We had a two great days.

Room Tip: we had room 1. This had a queen bed and a sofa bed. Had plenty of space.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki A, Manager at Cape York Peninsula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear Cath W,
Thank you for your glowing review!
We understand the complexities of travelling to this area and are happy to assist with any tour bookings!
We are pleased you enjoyed your tours with John Charlton and were able to experience what the region has to offer.
A 4WD adventure to "The Tip" is a must for any visit to the NPA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights, the closest accommodation for the walk to the tip of Cape York. Rooms pleasant. The meals were superb - totally surprising for such an out of the way place. Staff were accommodating and offered suggestions for travel around the area.

Room Tip: All ground floor rooms and surrounds pleasant all around.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suzie39_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki A, Manager at Cape York Peninsula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear Suzie39_12,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We have an excellent team here and each staff member endeavours to create a memorable experience for our guests.
We are pleased you enjoyed our restaurant, our food and beverage product offering continues to go from strength to strength.
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Mine was an overnight business trip and I can't fault this accommodation. The staff were very friendly, they arrange pick up and drop off from and to the airport, the room was clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. Highly recommend

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYPLodgeManager, Manager at Cape York Peninsula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Dear Ben C,
Thank you for your review of our property.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their time in the region.
Whether it be for business or leisure.
I shall pass your compliments onto the team.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

They will pick you up from the Airport as it is 15ks away.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful where possible.
The rooms are a little pricey, over $250 a night in the off season.

The rooms are clean and spacious with a comfortable bed and nice pillows.
There is very little noise at night to disturb you and the surroundings are very nice and well maintained.

There was a nice pool but I did not test it out.

The breakfast was a normal continental showing and you could order a cooked one if you wanted. The meals in the evening were very nice, a little pricey, but you do need to remember where you are, there are no large supermarkets or butchers around every corner, and the freight costs to this part of Australia are high.

You can hire a car from the resort, but it is $150 a day for a Toyota Yaris and fuel is around the $1.90 a litre.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYPLodgeManager, Manager at Cape York Peninsula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Dear AustraliaOwen,

Thank you for your review of our property.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and would return.
In regards to pricing, we appreciate that you understand the issues involved in operating in remote Australia
We work extremely hard to ensure we do not pass on any unnecessary costs to our clients , however additional costs associated with freight (as you mention) are unavoidable.
We are heavily focused on service delivery and ensuring our clients are taken care of when they visit this region.
We continue to enhance our product offering to guarantee value for money, our next endeavour is to have a local dance troupe perform at the Lodge. Guests will be able to watch (and participate) with our compliments.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews