We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely visit to the 1770 Distillery”
Review of 1770 Distillery

1770 Distillery
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Agnes Water
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: 1770 Distillery was established as a Boutique Distillery to utilise the locally grown fruits of the area and to provide a unique experience for both locals and tourists. It was John's dream to have a distillery and that is what led both John & Debra to the beautiful seaside Town of 1770 / Agnes Water in Queensland. The dream materialized after being bitten by the distilling bug whilst living in Tasmania. It was there that both John & Debra developed their distilling skill under the ever watchful eye of both Bill & Lyn Lark of the Lark Distillery.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Had a great visit to this distillery and nursery at the Town of 1770. I didn't even know it existed! I will swing by again next time we are in this area of the country.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drichards99, Marketing at 1770 Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the owner"
in 21 reviews
"distilling process"
in 4 reviews
"excellent tasting"
in 3 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 4 reviews
"enjoyable visit"
in 3 reviews
"free tasting"
in 2 reviews
"local fruit"
in 2 reviews
"bought bottles"
in 2 reviews
"strawberries"
in 2 reviews
"informative talk"
in 2 reviews
"great explanation"
in 2 reviews
"interesting experience"
in 2 reviews
"our favourite"
in 2 reviews
"feel welcome"
in 2 reviews
"local area"
in 2 reviews
"strawberry"
in 22 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This bloke has not only made his dream a reality, but paved the way for those looking to do the same. What an inspiration!
He does a great variety of fruit liquors, all made with real fruit. This guy has so much passion for what he does which makes him very easy to listen too, happy to tell you all about what he does and explain his liquors.
The liquors and all hand made with fruit. No additives, no colouring etc etc. A little pricey, but when you know what goes into them, you won’t think twice about buying one, and when you think about how many standard drinks in 1 bottle it’s really not that expensive.
Definitely worth a visit!

Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drichards99, Marketing at 1770 Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for your great review :) We are glad you enjoyed the experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

John's love for his work is palatable and what a lovely taste it was. We enjoyed an hour listening to him talking about how he gets the colour and taste into his liquors as we tried them for ourselves. He also had some stories of what didn't work to give us an idea of what is involved. Love your work John and am loving my "Dawn Break".

Thank Purplelady_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drichards99, Marketing at 1770 Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your visit :) Thanks for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Stopped in for a quick tasting and info session. The owner is very nice and allowed us to taste all the offerings. We ended buying a few to take home.

Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drichards99, Marketing at 1770 Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018
Google Translation

Glad you enjoyed your visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The man that run's it is friendly full of information not just what he has for sale but of the local area we could of stayed and talked all day peaceful and quite not to far from town could do with more or larger sign's only a tiny blackboard on main road and a sign out front of place almost drove past we enjoyed our visit and would go back to buy more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lanabananabates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drichards99, Marketing at 1770 Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Glad you enjoyed your visit :) And thank you for your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1770 Distillery also viewed

 
Agnes Water, Queensland
 

Been to 1770 Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing