We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dbrj
Kurrimine Beach, Australia

Great Spot

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 July 2019
Stay at the caravan park for 2 nights, Great meals at the hotel and relaxing atmosphere. Amenities block and laundry were kept very clean, thumbs up to the cleaners. There is a servo/store great store has great variety of gear, fresh veges come in not sure what day it was.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
View more hotels in Borroloola
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
9
5
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
5
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed five days. Loved every minute. Only bugbear was several dogs were wandering off leash which is annoying. There was one black dog who was a local who was constantly scavenging in people's camp sites. The bar and food quality were pretty good. We were not here to fish but had a lovely time. Facilities are well kept and very clean.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1960DebDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Let's start with the road to King Ash Bay. In July 2018 the corrugations would blow your mind if not your tyres. We pressured down to 25psi and still ended up driving in the sandy makeshift tracks people had forged off the sides of the road. The first 10kms was horrendous the second 10 was good. That of course didn't stop the 'my 4WD can conquer anything' tearing along at speed making the situation worse. Once you arrive, you sign in at the fishing club and get a little pink ribbon to tie to your car to show you've paid your $20 then head down to the river bank.

Naturally, everyone wants the riverside spots for the view so take that option and you'll be in suburbia. Of course, those that want some space do so by spreading out their van, their boat, their car, their 40 man tent and really setting up for a few months as if they were at home. The height of selfishness. Of course being called Genny Flats, the same people can use generators at night. We were lucky and didn't get one of them near us but had a guy roll up and squeeze into the space we'd left between us and the next person (for privacy and distance) and then proceed to talk loudly to all and sundry. Great.

The facilities are well maintained, spacious and clean so no complaints there, but it can be a long walk if you take one of the more removed sites.

The river is lovely, the sunset is great and even the birding behind the campground is good, just be prepared that while you are in very remote Australia, this is not a quiet or remote experience. Come here if you're a keen fisherman and extrovert, otherwise avoid it.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed at Borroloola last nite and someone mentioned King Ash Bay Camp Ground. Not far to drive. Marrion was so very friendly and full of information.
Great sites. Shady.
Amenities clean.
$22.50 unpowered
Close to water.
Really pretty. Sunset amazing colours.
Great spot for fishing.
Met a lovely couple and in 5 mins they offered us a fillet of fresh Queenie they had just caught.
Happy hour at bar, markets on Sunday, free pancakes on Sunday (not sure if its every Sunday).
Phone signal.
Def recommend.
Booked for 1 nite and stayed 2.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ToniV3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Keep your eyes peeled for crocs, this is a place to stay after the bone ratteling road. It is worth looking for a good spot that is close to services but away to get your peace and quiet after all thats why most come out here, so take your time. Its a stong community of regulars wih a shop and fuel and everyone has a boat and enjoys the remoteness.

Room tip: If you have time, drive around and get a good spot - dont rush in
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Karmanow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stopped into King Ash Bay after seeing it on a 4wd touring show. We don't mind fishing but on this trip didn't have a single rod with us. But we stayed 3 nights and absolutely loved it.

We camped in the unpowered section on 'Genny's Flat' which is very spacious. You can be as close or as secluded as you like. We had fantastic views over the water. It is safe from crocs due to the steep embankment.

There is a real community feel, even for a tourist we felt most welcome. Prices are very reasonable, at $22 a night for 2 people. The ammenities were top notch and there is a laundry too.

Groper's Bar and Grill is an awesome outdoor bar featuring great meals, atmosphere and the footy on weekends. It's a good place to compare the daily catch, or the ones that got away! We simply enjoyed the company of others that we met and the laid back lifestyle and feel of the club.

Good fuel available and a decent General store. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 194danp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews