We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
9
5
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
5
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Keep your eyes peeled for crocs, this is a place to stay after the bone ratteling road. It is worth looking for a good spot that is close to services but away to get your peace and quiet after all thats why most come out here, so take your time. Its a stong community of regulars wih a shop and fuel and everyone has a boat and enjoys the remoteness.

Room tip: If you have time, drive around and get a good spot - dont rush in
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Karmanow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stopped into King Ash Bay after seeing it on a 4wd touring show. We don't mind fishing but on this trip didn't have a single rod with us. But we stayed 3 nights and absolutely loved it.

We camped in the unpowered section on 'Genny's Flat' which is very spacious. You can be as close or as secluded as you like. We had fantastic views over the water. It is safe from crocs due to the steep embankment.

There is a real community feel, even for a tourist we felt most welcome. Prices are very reasonable, at $22 a night for 2 people. The ammenities were top notch and there is a laundry too.

Groper's Bar and Grill is an awesome outdoor bar featuring great meals, atmosphere and the footy on weekends. It's a good place to compare the daily catch, or the ones that got away! We simply enjoyed the company of others that we met and the laid back lifestyle and feel of the club.

Good fuel available and a decent General store. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 194danp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loved the three days we spent here. Camping grounds were very good with heaps of options, Have a good look around before you choose your camp site to get the best spot for your needs. Mozzies were fierce but it's the top end, comes with the territory !
The important part FISHING! The fishing off the bank was amazing we spent one afternoon getting smoked by huge Jew fish that we could just not stop. I was even sight fishing them with soft plastics. Can't wait to get back here one day...

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 705jamiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Caught fish from the bank of the river - had to keep watch for crocs though. The ladies at the Barra bar on pancake day can be a bit nasty if you are slightly left of centre. I copped a death stare when I went for a double dollop of cream aloft the strawberry jam - shan't be doing that again I guess. Another group were almost frog marched back out of the pancake serving area for turning up late - very poor form from a hospitality perspective indeed. So if attending the pancake Sunday you must be on your best behaviour at all times or feel the wrath of these women. Enough focusing on this negative aspect as the place is otherwise brilliant and is a must visit as an outback fishing destination. We will be back for sure.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
13  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

This is an awesome spot, nestled on a pristine waterway in the outback. A Fishermans paradise. There is a few crocs about but not aggressive. The amenities are really clean, the staff are very friendly. The bar opens each night and serves basic but good food. The store is very well stocked.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews