We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit is recommended”

Killer Whale Museum
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bathurst, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A visit is recommended”
Reviewed 19 March 2017

A great museum that showcases the history of whaling. The exhibits had a story attached to it and very well displayed. There are two levels to the museum and while we were there a tour of the lighthouse was available.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Pauline2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    236
    39
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit. ”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

If you are in the Eden area I recommend you pay a visit to the Killer Whale Museum.
The story of Old Tom is quite amazing but also it is interesting to hear the whaling history of the area.
There is also a lot of information about the history of the greater area which is very interesting.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank jeffs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing history”
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We didn't have enough time to look at the entire downstairs area, but we haven't stopped telling people about what we did see and learn upstairs. Some incredible stories; great to learn about things that one had no idea about. I thought that a museum focussed on whaling would be a bit wrong. Incorrect! Highly recommended.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank JGS_0456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting museum showing the history and changes in Whaling”
Reviewed 11 March 2017

The central story is about whaling in the late 1800's/early 1900's and focussed on the Orca killer whales that worked in partnership with the whalers and there is the skeleton of 'Old Tom' one of the killer whales. A fascinating story and museum that has lots of photo's and memorabilia charting the whaling industry and its decline. It was only $10 entry fee so well worth a visit.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank moliere19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Little Museum - a ' Boomers' paradise”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

I stumbled on this museum three years ago and loved it's whole theme and wonderful location. And I liked it even more the the second time!! The unique and very interesting central story is beautifully told in exhibits, old photographs and film.
It only needs a little coffee shop so you can take a break while soaking up all the great historic material??

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank SilverbackRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Killer Whale Museum also viewed

Eden, New South Wales
 
Eden, New South Wales
Eden, New South Wales
 

Been to Killer Whale Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing