We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accommodation in fabulous lication”
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse 10
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse 10
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Kitchen Area Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
2 reviews
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse 10
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Kitchen Area
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Kitchen
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Kitchen Units
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Dining Lounge
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Dining
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Lounge
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Sitting Room
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Fire Place
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Bathroom
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Window
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Double Room
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Double
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Master Bedroom
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Master
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Shower Room
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Twin Room
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Twin
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Garden
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Garden Bench
Croyde Holiday Cottages Montague Farmhouse Aeriel
IMG 9514
IMG 9763
IMG 9878
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Croyde, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GandLAug2...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location, good cottage, poor agency service”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This should have been a 5 star review. The cottage is perfectly located - just around the corner from the shops/restaurants (yet sheltered from any noise) and as close as you could hope to be to the beach. And it's a lovely cottage. Big enough for our group of 13. Beautiful kitchen. Huge table for the whole group to eat together. Plenty of living space. And, although we weren't convinced by the ad, there actually is enough room to park 3 medium-sized cars. And we were allowed in early. BUT. It could have been so much better for just a little more effort. The bedding is poor quality, which is inexcusable for the price paid (and in view of the stern warnings guests are given about sun cream stains). Some maintenance was overdue (plaster cracks in the walls and ceilings, a stiff window) which reinforced the overall impression that it really ought to have been just a bit cleaner. The layout is unfortunate - the master bedroom is huge, and disproportionate to the rather more cramped other bedrooms. You enter straight into a carpeted room when, given that the beach is bound to be a regular destination for guests, floorboards would have been more sensible and easier to keep clean. As another reviewer has mentioned, the kitchen/diner patio door is literally only a few feet from neighbouring properties and shares access with an upstairs flat, which isn't ideal for privacy. And the garden isn't great - the back gate is rickety and insecure and, even though we were there is a sunny week, the patchy lawn was never really dry, so outside eating wasn't as inviting as it should have been (which might explain why the barbeque didn't look as if it had been used for some time). And there aren't enough bins (and instructions for collections were misleading). We also encountered 3 additional problems. Firstly, the shower was out of order on arrival. Not a problem, as we were left a message and a sign was on the unit. We were told that, as we arrived on a bank holiday weekend, they were waiting for a part to arrive and it couldn't be fixed until the Tuesday. Not a problem. These things happen. But it wasn't fixed on the Tuesday. We had to chase this up on the Wednesday only to be assured it would be fixed on Thursday. It wasn't. And there was no attempt to let us know it wouldn't be or explain why. We were therefore left with having to rely on just one communal and one ensuite bathroom even though we had sought out and paid for a cottage with 3 bathrooms. Secondly, the toilet next to the faulty shower was blocked on arrival. Not a problem. These things happen (although it is not so clear how that could have gone unnoticed by the cleaner). And the agent sent someone round the very next day to fix it. Fine. (Although for some reason he didn't also clean it afterwards). And thirdly the cottage had advertised an X-Box. This had been removed long before we arrived and it became clear, on raising it with the agents, that there was no intention of replacing it. We had teenagers in our party who were expecting to use it. We should have been told. Or it shouldn't have been advertised. We received our refundable deposit but we were given no concession for the amenities we had been deprived of nor any apology. So we raised these issues with the agents. They eventually offered us, rather begrudgingly, a £50 refund. Not really much of a concession given that we had paid over £2400 for a 3-bathroom cottage and had to make do with a 2-bathroom cottage which we could have got rather cheaper! One final point. Beware the reviews. We weren't invited to submit a review. And you may note from the site that the last reviews date back to 2014. So you can't be sure that the reviews haven't been vetted/carefully selected. So, all in all, whilst the cottage was fine, and we would certainly recommend it (although we would still suggest some minor improvements would make a big difference), we certainly couldn't recommend the agent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location; kitchen; size
Liked least: Agency service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of Montague Farmhouse. We greatly appreciate your feedback and will endeavour to improve any elements we have control over. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with certain parts of the property and the service you received.

We are more than happy to approach the owners of the property with your comments, including replacing the bedding. Unfortunately, certain elements won’t be possible or as easy to change, such as the bedroom sizes, downstairs carpets and the quality of the grass. We will take your comments onboard regarding the patchiness, and will instruct the gardener to lay some grass seed in these areas. We have had quite an unsettled Summer with very wet days followed by very hot days, which has of course resulted in some scorching of the grass.

We will instruct our maintenance contractor to visit the property immediately to attend to the garden gate and stiff window.

We are terribly sorry to hear that you experienced a broken shower and a blocked toilet during your stay at Montague Farmhouse. As we are sure you can appreciate we do not have control over these particular breakdowns. We can assure you that we were trying our absolute hardest to rectify the issues as soon as possible but we apologise that you were not satisfied with the level of communication you received. We would like to emphasise that upon initial discovery of the broken shower, we informed you that we couldn’t guarantee a timeframe for the fix, nor confirmation that this would even be possible during your stay. Unfortunately, it was not possible to fix during the duration of your stay as the part seemed difficult to obtain. As general practice at Ocean Cottages we try our best to recover any broken items quickly. Ocean Cottages prides itself on its customer service and we are disappointed to hear that you did not feel we were pursuing the matter.

We completely agree that you should have been notified regarding the XBOX and we are also sorry that you experienced the shower and toilet issues. We will ensure that this does not happen again and all future guests are informed.

In regards to other customer reviews, we always encourage our customers to write a review and we consider any comment is helpful to us, the owners and future guests as they are useful to further improve the service. We have absolutely no control as to which reviews are put live on the website

Prior to your review and following your communication with Emily regarding the compensation, it would have been useful to know your additional feelings to fully review the situation. Unfortunately, we were not given the opportunity to discuss or look into some of your comments.

We are delighted to see that you would recommend Montague Farmhouse to others and we would love to invite you back to Ocean Cottages in the future to experience a more enjoyable stay.

Kindest,

Jane Taylor
Director of Ocean Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in fabulous lication”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Montague Farmhouse for the half-term week at the end of May. The house is very well equipped and beautifully decorated. The location is fabulous - shops, pubs, restaurants all on the doorstep, and the beach is a short walk away. The garden was a lovely sunny spot, perfect for a bbq.
The only negative point was having the house behind looking straight through the glass doors into the kitchen area, and the people staying in the apartment above having to walk past our bi-folding doors in the kitchen to access their property, meaning we had to keep these doors shut and locked at all times to prevent strangers wandering in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that the property was in a convenient location for you. Thank you for your feedback on the neighbouring properties we greatly appreciate this. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Ocean Cottages again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing