We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but some staff were awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA
Ranked #7 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Location

Location was perfect! It was less than ten minutes' walk to Finals beach. There were many restaurants and supermarket nearby. ATM machine is just three minutes' walk away.

Check-in
We arrived at 3am due to the delayed flight. Cold platters for dinner were prepared for us as requested prior to our arrival. The night receptionist was extremely friendly and polite even though he didn't speak English.

Reception
The ladies from the reception weren't friendly nor welcoming at all. We didn't even get a smile or a hello every time we walked past the reception. When we checked out, the lady said 'okay'. That was it! Very disappointing!

Room
We stayed in the pool view room on the first floor. It is very noisy from the noises from the pool. I would suggest higher floor. Housekeeping ladies were polite and they cleaned the room thoroughly everyday. Shower gel, shampoo, some soap bars, a comb, a hairdryer and towels were provided in the shower room. There were plenty of storage in the room but the fridge wasn't free of charge which is very unusual! The shower room was refurbished to a good standard but the room furniture were very old.

Restaurant
We had the same breakfast every single day, not a single change! Dinner was brilliant! There was the Pirate theme with 95% seafood on Saturday. Absolutely loved it! The chef from the cooking counter was so friendly and lovely! He must be the best employee of the hotel! The waiting staff were okay. The guy who checked people at the restaurant door was extremely rude! We didn't see him on the first time we had dinner. He didn't let us into the restaurant because we didn't bring the card that comes with the key card. We explained to him that it wasn't our first night here and that we weren't asked anything previous night, we just showed our key card and told them our names and room number. He told us to go back to the room and get the card. He barely spoke English and he was shouting us very impatiently in front of many other guests. We were the only orients in the whole hotel and that might've been the case! We were stopped by him again another night. He claimed we didn't pay money for the water. We purchased half board but we had to buy water, and the waiters never informed us we had to pay straight away. They took our room number so we simply thought it'll be added to our room and we pay at checkout. We were then again humiliated in front of a lot of other guests for 6 euros! That rude guy was shouting "money now! problemo!". He was really disgusting!!

Pools and spa
Both indoor and outdoor pools, and the spa were lovely. Even though there were signs that kids must be supervised, there were many kids running around and using the jacuzzi unsupervised.

Entertainment
There were great entertainment for kids every night and some water aerobics and water polo sessions for adults.

Overall, the service we received was less than average and it was really disappointing! I really hope the management reviewed the staff and give them proper trainings for basic customer service at least. Even though we enjoyed the hotel and the food, we will never go back there because of the level of service we received. We even felt at some point that speaking English was a crime as most of the staff didn't speak English!

P.s. Free wi-fi which was useless!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mushr00mm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear guest,

thanks for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that, in general, you had a nice stay at GHT AQUARIUM&SPA Hotel. As you mentioned, it has an excellent location, in a quiet area of Lloret de Mar, but close to the beach and the center.

On the other hand, we are so sorry for the feeling you had about some employees, especially for the incidents in the restaurant. Our staff do their best to make the hotel comfortable for all our customers and to communicate with them in other languages. Sorry if that was not your impression.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Where do i start,stayed here for 1 week with family of three. Room 250 poolside view brilliant hotel clean friendly staff from reception to house keepers, food was very nice yes fish evernight but was also more on offer aswell some reviews ive read dont give credit hotel deserves which is sad realy. Entertainment for everyone at hotel, spa brilliant pool lovely. I found it realy cheap aswell at bar. Thank you reception for being there wen needed. Meal staff all work hard and go out way too help. And your house keepers are all polite and do job well. Will return again but with more family as i can highly recomend hotel, xx kempster family

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank addstig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear guests,

we really appreciate your kind review and thank you!

It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are happy to know that our services meet your expectations.

See you soon! Thanks for recommending!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I think people who are complaining about this hotel are forgetting how competitively priced it is, it really is excellent value for money.

Yes we have stayed in better hotels, but we paid a lot more. People need to remember this.

The hotel itself is spotless, room was spotless. We stayed half board and cannot complain about the food at all.

Wi-fi is a little patchy, one day it was down completely for a few hours, but so what? Does it really matter? No !

If I had one gripe, it would be the usual... selfish guests reserving sunbeds and the hotel did nothing to prevent this. But this happens worldwide.

The pool area is not the biggest, I don't think they have enough sunbeds for the amount of rooms they have either, but again, a lot of hotels are the same.

The area is quiet, thankfully. Not the poshest either, but totally acceptable.

Would we stay here again? Yes.. if the hotel was not in Lloret, we don't care much for Lloret, too many twenty something gangs, although I must say, there were none at the GHT Aquarium and Spa.. it is mercifully away from that area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank StevenWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear guest,

thanks for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you had a nice stay at GHT AQUARIUM&SPA.

On the other hand, we regret that during your stay the wifi did not work properly. And we would like to clarify that it is not allowed to reserve the sunbeds.

Thanks for considering our hotel a good resort to stay in.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Rooms ok, rest of hotel a dump, restaurant staff rude and food terrible, bad location. 100% would not recommend if you were looking for a stress free relaxing hotel! Would say 2 star not 4 as advertised!!!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank p1478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear guest,

We apologize that you couldn't enjoy your stay at GHT AQUARIUM&SPA Hotel.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Reception "ladies" not welcoming at all! Considering we arrived as a Mother & young child. We were treated very rigidly. I felt it was based on our ethnicity because there was no other reason for the way we were spoken to or treated. This led to me requesting a conversation with the Manager. This wasn't easy to do either. At one point I was in tears! Once spoke with the manger, she apologised & attempted to assure me she would correct issues and wished us an enjoyable remaining stay.
Our room was lovely, big enough for my Son & i to feel comfortable. All clean! Ac was great but does shut off if your balcony door is open. Also the electricity supply is managed by your room card but I left another card I its place when leaving the room to allow phones/iPads to charge (at our own risk) had no problem hiring fridge & safe, fair fee but be advised of deposits which aren't stated until you ask for the items. Room service/cleaning was great & we had a lovely lady for 6 out of our 7 day stay. Have her tip, not much but was only right.
The Children's Animacion (entertainers) were brilliant Jose & Sergi! My son had a birthday during our stay & they gave him a great evening to remember! Thank you x
Pool & Bar nice areas, could restrict smoking a little more though as at nights especially couldn't sit out on balcony much due to the rising smoke from smokers below.
The buffet dining area was fine, easy to get around once you know how & although they're pretty strict on food being taken out of the hall, they were happy to let me take a few pieces of fruit up for my child who didn't eat breakfast. Show cooking was nice to watch & eat! Chef was so lovely, smiley & friendly! Even posed for a pic.
The Spa & all its facilities was/is amazing. Although it clearly states no children under 16 there were quite a few tearing through their unsupervised! Lifeguards were visible daily & approachable and again posed for a pic.
Towels are advertised as free (for pool & spa) but once you ask, another deposit is asked for.
Met some lovely guests. Many seem to be repeat visitors. So that says a lot about the Hotel.
We would stay agin but avoid the reception desk, very unwelcoming and rude. Such a shame because front of house is a paramount service that should be to the highest standard of customer service!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank momandson2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear guests,

thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. In order to continuously improve our services, we always welcome comments and feedback.

We are so sorry for the misunderstanding of the beginning, but, fortunately, you could finally enjoy your stay at the GHT AQUARIUM&SPA. Our staff always do all they can to offer our guests a pleasant stay and we are happy to know that, in general, you felt comfortable in our hotel, enjoying your room, our animation program...

We hope you give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.3 km away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#8 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,502 reviews
0 km away
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
#19 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
960 reviews
1.5 km away
Gran Hotel Monterrey
Gran Hotel Monterrey
#12 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Rosamar & Spa
Rosamar & Spa
#10 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,220 reviews
2.8 km away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#9 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
874 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
#1 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA

Address: C/ Actor Pere Codina i Mont, 19, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Aquarium Hotel)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#9 Best Value Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#15 Family Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $69 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet area of ​​Platja Fenals, on the outskirts of Lloret, this delightful, friendly four-star hotel has been awarded the FAMILY TOURISM certificate and the ISO 9001 quality standards. It provides an excellent standard of amenities and services and is the ideal choice for a holiday with your partner, family or friends. Hotel Aquarium also has swimming pools for children and adults, a heated pool, a new SPA area with a fabulous fitness suite, Turkish bath, multishower, heated loungers, bi-thermal shower, massage area (the only SPA service that incurs a charge). There is also an archery gallery, day and evening entertainment for adults and children and a kid’s club in the summer season (June to September), garden, terrace, buffet-style meals and show cooking and free WiFi throughout the hotel. Its location next to the beach and the shopping area of Platja de Fenals, 800m from the centre of Lloret, provides guests with an array of options for exploring the surroundings. Since 2011, this hotel has been fitted with solar panels to heat water for the bathrooms and the indoor swimming pool. We do not accept pets Have an unforgettable holiday at Hotel Aquarium. We know you’ll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarium Hotel Lloret De Mar
Aquarium Lloret De Mar
Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing