We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay marred by water leak through ceiling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA
Ranked #7 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at the Aquarium Hotel for 3 nights in mid-September. The hotel itself is OK, in fact very good for the price paid. Unfortunately on arriving back in our room at 12.30am on our second night we found the floor wet due to water dripping through the ceiling. The night porter came up and told us to take all our things (inconvenient to say the least at that time of night) and move to another room, which we did. In the morning I went to see the Hotel Manager at the front desk and his attitude was appalling. I asked if we should stay in the room we had moved to and he said emphatically "No" that room will taken today, move your things back, as the problem was being fixed. When I told him how inconvenient this is was all he could do was shrug his shoulders at everything I said!! The word "sorry" never crossed his lips!! We moved back and whilst doing so spoke to another guest who was checking out. She said they had the same problem the week before. Co-incidence or does it happen frequently?? We would not have been so upset about the incident if the Manager's attitude had been different.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Dear guest,

We really appreciate and thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Aquarium in Lloret de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

We are very sorry for the inconvenient in your room. This is not a common problem in the Hotel Aquarium, neither other of our hotels. When a problem like this appears, we hurry to fix it, but sometimes it's a huge problem of the installation and it takes some days to fix it. Besides, it's known that a problem never comes alone.

About the manager response, we will ask his version of the facts and act if it's necessary. We invite you to come again to one of our hotels and spend some awesome days with us.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at Hotel Aquarium or in any other of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 296 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

Spend very pleasant two weeks in this hotel.Location is very good,not in a crowded Lloret,but close enough-10 min walk.Hotel is very clean,every day cleaning ladies in your room with almost every day clean sheets,nice!
Food was very tasty,I can say excellent,variety from meat to fish,vegetables,sweets,fruits...something for everybody.
Spa area is also very nice,sauna,jacuzzi,pool,all in the price,nice.
Fenals beach is not what I expected,it is more like city beach,little less people,but waves all the time,not for me.But if you take touristic bus,in front of Royal beach hotel is station,for 4.5o euros in less than 10 min you are in a perfect beach St.Cristina.Very,very nice!Immediately forgot Fenals.Also,if you are in St.Cristina,I can reccomend you very nice garden with cactus flowers,it is like heaven,and just 5min up the road.Dont miss.
Also you should visit Tossa de Mar,less than hour by bus from Lloret,really nice little city.I got back by boat,much nicer than bus.
Barcelona is must.Also Girona.And Figueres,dont miss Dali museum.
So,go to Spain,go to Aquarium hotel and enjoy!

Room Tip: last floor,overlook the street,nice,if you take the room look at pool,you will only see other hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yoma33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear guest,

We really appreciate and thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Aquarium in Lloret de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at Hotel Aquarium or in any other of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed for two nights and were pleased with the location which was in a quieter area of Lloret. The food was excellent, a real variety to suit everyone! Staff couldn't have been friendlier and the facilities were great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintnick76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Aquarium in Lloret de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Thinking of this hotel against a 4 star hotel in the RIU, Barcelo or Ibrostar groups, there is no comparison. But you are not paying their prices either, so there can be no complaint. You get what you pay for.

Reception were helpful and friendly. Our complaint about the toilet not working in the room was dealt with within 10 minuits of telling them. They are happy to give information about the surrounding area etc.

The rooms are smallish but adequate. There is a fair amount of storage space. We had 2 rooms overlooking the Navy Bar. Avoid at all costs. Very very noisy until about 2.30am. Either close the door and have the aircon on or pray for rain which keeps the punters at the bar inside!! Bathroom a decent size with all the stuff that you need. Bed linen clean and changed frequently. The rooms were cleaned daily.

Restaurant was nothing special at all. Breakfast was fine with all the stuff that we Brits like!! The evening meal was a bit of a let down. There was not a great deal of choice, but what there was could always be eaten. I don't think a lot of your money goes towards food at this hotel.

The pool area was fine. The sun gets on it at 10.30 and leaves at 4.30. There is a Spa area at one end of the pool area. This is what gets the hotel its 4 stars. There is an indoor pool, spa pool, sauna etc. Again, very clean and well presented.

On arrival at the hotel we spent over 80 Euros before we arrived at our room!! It is 10 euro deposit for the pool towels and 30+euros for a safe for 10 nights plus a 10 euro deposit

Although I would not personally go to this hotel again, I wouldn't put anyone off. For myself I would rather pay a bit more and get a bit better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms opposite the Navy Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.
In the Hotel Aquarium in Lloret de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

I am very sorry to say (about the total amount you spent before getting in to the room) that you really only have spent 30,00€ tu use the safe box because the other amounts you got them back at the end of your holidays (because they were only deposits and not payments).

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed here for a week in September 2011 on half board basis
I think the bad reviews on here are a little unfair,as this hotel was not bad at all. I have stayed in many 4* hotels. The only down side was the food, not as much choice as other hotels and dessert lacked choice but overall was ok.

Our room was lovely, nice and clean. TV could do with updating and more English channels.
The hotel attire a little dated, could do with a bit of a re-furb - beds nice and comfy, shower always hot after a day sunbathing.

Staff lovely - Receptionists really friendly - maids cleaned rooms every day, fresh towels etc.
Pool area nice - lots of beds - life guard daily, he was lovely. Defo ask for a pool view when booking

Beach 5-7 minute walk down a slight hill, although it is not sand, is that awful pee shingle/pebble stuff - beds and umbrella's expensive 15 euro's compaired to other places i have been

A good 10 minute walk into the centre of Lloret, was ok, again very dated - would have preferred Magaluf as more of a choice for nightlife/clubs/bars/etc

I personally wouldnt go back here as i didnt like Lloret - but the hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: I emailed ahead as well as requesting at booking for a pool view - we were second floor room 249 PER...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfishlittlefish09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear guest,

We really appreciate and thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Aquarium in Lloret de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

In response to your comments, we have to say that all of our hotels deserve the stars they have obtained by the Catalan Government standards. Furthermore, we have the ISO 9001 Quality Certification and ISO 14011 Invironment Protection, worldwide recognizeds. We regret the food was not of your satisfaction, as much of our guests leave the hotel very happy with the meals, as we see in our internal questionaires and in on-line reviews.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at Hotel Aquarium or in any other of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.3 km away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#8 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,503 reviews
1.5 km away
Gran Hotel Monterrey
Gran Hotel Monterrey
#12 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
219 reviews
0 km away
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
#18 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Rosamar & Spa
Rosamar & Spa
#10 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,220 reviews
2.8 km away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#9 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
875 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
#1 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA

Address: C/ Actor Pere Codina i Mont, 19, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Aquarium Hotel)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#9 Best Value Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#15 Family Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $63 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet area of ​​Platja Fenals, on the outskirts of Lloret, this delightful, friendly four-star hotel has been awarded the FAMILY TOURISM certificate and the ISO 9001 quality standards. It provides an excellent standard of amenities and services and is the ideal choice for a holiday with your partner, family or friends. Hotel Aquarium also has swimming pools for children and adults, a heated pool, a new SPA area with a fabulous fitness suite, Turkish bath, multishower, heated loungers, bi-thermal shower, massage area (the only SPA service that incurs a charge). There is also an archery gallery, day and evening entertainment for adults and children and a kid’s club in the summer season (June to September), garden, terrace, buffet-style meals and show cooking and free WiFi throughout the hotel. Its location next to the beach and the shopping area of Platja de Fenals, 800m from the centre of Lloret, provides guests with an array of options for exploring the surroundings. Since 2011, this hotel has been fitted with solar panels to heat water for the bathrooms and the indoor swimming pool. We do not accept pets Have an unforgettable holiday at Hotel Aquarium. We know you’ll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarium Hotel Lloret De Mar
Aquarium Lloret De Mar
Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing