We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uniquely Sicilian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Chiavi di San Francesco Residence
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Uniquely Sicilian”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel is tucked away on a small side street that we found quite challenging to locate as we didn't have a GPS. Streets are not particularly well marked in Sicily. Once found the next challenge was parking. After several spins around the neighborhood without success, I asked Marissa (?) for help and she arranged to have a hotel vehicle moved so that I could park there. After getting a $50 parking ticket in Erice I didn't want another one in Trapani. The hotel itself is fine. Our room was large but somewhat spartan. Breakfast was on the rooftop patio and was quite lovely. Trapani was a nice surprise. Our original intent was to visit Erice and merely spend the night in Trapani. However, we thoroughly enjoyed strolling down Vittorio Emanuele, a beautiful street lined with nice shops and restaurants. It seemed that everybody in Trapani was out to enjoy the evening, too. The hotel recommended Antichi Sapori for dinner which is close by. We were not disappointed. I had the tuna, which was superb and Vickie had pasta with clams and mussels. In short, the hotel is in a wonderful location and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOVI1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    118
    39
    9
    9
See reviews for
53
133
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed for one night as part of a group of 13 people and found the hotel very interesting. Several of the party booked double rooms and were given massive apartments with several rooms, kitchen etc. We had a double which was a good size. The breakfast on the rooftop terrace was great on a warm sunny morning. We found the hotel staff were all helpful and spoke enough english to give us basic directions etc.

The hotel is located on a narrow street which has limited parking, but the location was very convenient to explore the town.

We managed to get a very reasonable rate of 50 euros for a double with breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanAirUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Lovely hotel in the heart of the historic part of Trapani. Rooms vary considerably - some are average, others are massive suites. Breakfast is in the fresh air, on the roof.

Room Tip: ask about the size of the room - there are huge variations
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ho6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel on our recent trip to Sicily. We took a taxi from the train/bus station as the hotel is not nearby and with the small, winding streets we knew finding it might be a bit of a challenge. Once we got our bearings we couldn't have asked for a better overall location to explore the historic part of Trapani. The room was quite large (including a kitchen not to be used by B & B visitors) and very clean. The bathroom as others have mentioned was quite small and might have posed a problem for larger guests. The hotel is located in a residential area so you do get some "local noise" and since it's an old building, the soundproofing isn't the best. The staff was friendly and helpful and also provided several very good recommendations for nearby restaurants. One thing that could be a problem for some arriving guests is that the desk is only staffed at certain hours, so if you arrived during the afternoon rest time or later in the evening, getting in and checked in to your room, might be a bit complicated. Breakfast (pretty standard European breads, meats and cheeses, yogurt, etc.) was located on the lovely roof-top terrace. This area was also the only place to access the wi-fi. We were generally quite pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MZC-Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The hotel is a very attractive building, inside and out, with a central atrium and elevator, nice sitting areas on each floor, and a great roof deck with tables and chairs. My room was nice as well, large, with a table and four chairs and a sort of sofa (it was a bit odd in its design). Breakfast was good, with cereal, yogurt, pastries, juice, and coffee or cappuccino on offer. Staff was friendly and helpful. The biggest problem for me though is that the room was very poorly insulated from the sounds in the hotel - the elevator going up and down, doors closing, dishes clattering, etc. At least there wasn't much outside noise, as it's in a quiet area off the main streets. But it was difficult to sleep in in the morning as the sounds woke me up. My other complaint is with the bathroom. It was very small, and poorly designed in that the shower and vanity are situated such that they partially block the entrance to the bathroom, and thus I had to turn slightly sideways to fit through the door.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trapani hotels
0.5 km away
Badia Nuova Residence
Badia Nuova Residence
#3 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.7 km away
Al Residence San Domenico
0.2 km away
Abita Appartamenti
Abita Appartamenti
#15 of 19 in Trapani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 km away
Palazzo dei Corsari
Palazzo dei Corsari
#16 of 19 in Trapani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Trapani In
Hotel Trapani In
#2 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chiavi di San Francesco Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chiavi di San Francesco Residence

Property: Le Chiavi di San Francesco Residence
Address: Via Giacomo Tartaglia 18/20, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Trapani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Trapani
Price range (per night): $62 - $113
Hotel Class:1 star — Le Chiavi di San Francesco Residence 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Chiavi di San Francesco Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chiavi Di San Francesco Residence Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing