We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
view from the balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the balcony
front of property db bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
view from the balcony
front of property
db bed
db bed
sittiing room
sitting room
bedroom
sitting room
sitting room
window
sitting room
outdoor kitchen
view at the village
bathroom
bathroom
bathroom
bathroom
terrace
Outside the house, in the alley
The village
The village
Mimallis
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Milos, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
blured_82
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Authentic Stay”
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in September 2011
6
people found this review helpful

Stay in this lovely Cycladic house, smack-bang in the middle of Chora, with its charming authentic character and you are guaranteed a quintessentially Greek summer holiday. Anoi House is a traditional island house, furnished with original antiques and tastefully decorated with handcrafted items, candles and the island's amazing stones and minerals.

Unfortunately its simplistic style makes it impractical as a living space. The house’s bathroom, a wet room made entirely out of local stone, compliments the property's style but its tiny size means that everything including towels and toilet paper will get wet while in use and the lack of shelving makes it impractical. The same applies for the outdoor original marble kitchenette, which would only work for a very basic use (making refreshments or preparing a quick snack). At the back of the property there is a nice terrace which overlooks an outdoor car park and has views of the village. It is very quiet though so this was not an issue for us.

The owners have done a great job in creating a minimalist look in the space but they have failed to provide essential items such as a wardrobe or a chest of drawers (there is nowhere to store clothes apart from some hangers), a sun umbrella in the terrace which is essential in protecting you from the sizzling sun and even a proper string where you can hang your beach towels and bathing suits.

If you are willing to work round those issues then do stay in Anoi House, the character of the building and its excellent location compensates that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The character and design of the house
Liked least: Lack of facilities such as a wardrobe
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiveMeEat
Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Oh So Very Good!”
Reviewed 14 August 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

If you are interested in a truly traditional village on Milos, stay in Plaka. Quiet, scenic, good food and drink choices, friendly people with beautiful traditional architecture, all set among scenic hilltops with striking views of the sea, amidst winding, friendly little alleyways. Tucked into this pleasant and comfortable maze of alleys is the Anoi House. Simply a perfect little apartment, well suited for one or two guests. The hostess is Eleni, who lives just across the alley with her lovely little family. The place is immaculately clean and very well appointed. She has anticipated all of a traveler's needs, and made provision for all. You'll find the place very tastefully decorated, with lots of antiques etc., yet with a modern touch that allows for a sense of airiness and comfort. Eleni and her husband have added many personal touches to the decor, that wonderfully reflect the culture and nature of Milos. Oh, and the breakfast - every morning, a splendid and simple meal is provided at your door - the breads and jellies are a highlight to every morning. A variety of coffees are provided in your kitchen area. The view from the porch kept us charmed. We spent many pleasant hours on the porch, watching the movements of the villages, listening to the sounds of old men jabbering the afternoon away in a nearby taverna...it's a very peaceful place. The apartment is well situated, and close to everything in the village, while still offering much privacy. Plaka is similarly situated on MIlos. The hosts are lovely people, and very attentive, without being intrusive in any way - they truly wish for you to have your own experience, and to enjoy Plaka and Milos to the fullest. Oh yes, the price - very good! The Venturi's have a number of other rental properties on the island, and I'm sure they are just as thoughtfully decorated and attended to as the Anoi House, but I did not see them. But I can say that the Anoi House is simply a magical little place, and a fine choice for your stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanStac
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2011 for a stay in May 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Our five night stay at the Anoi House was nothing short of wonderful. From the first moments, when we stepped out of the taxi (which was kindly arranged for us, to get from the airport) and met our hosts who greeted us so warmly and led us through idyllic alleyways, to the moment the house door was opened and we first saw inside…we found our expectations and hopes surpassed.

The house was charming in every way, the inside is of all things Greek, and also comfortable, smartly decorated, meticulously clean and fresh, and gives the air of being cherished and very well cared for. I haven’t stayed anywhere else on Milos, so of course, I am biased. You can see the pictures, which can do only fair justice to seeing the inside in person, but I find these things to be most unique about the Anoi House.
Perfect location: Excellent proximity to the path up to the Castro, the bus stop, all tavernas in Plaka, shops, museums, no traffic noise, and the view…details I’ll save as a tempting surprise for you. We spent hours absorbed in the view from the balcony in the back. Parking is not a big deal, there are choices around, however, the busiest season might present a challenge.
Perfect host: As soon as we met Eleni, her husband and their sweet little boy, we could tell they would be perfect hosts. Eleni always cared for our happiness/contentedness, and helped us more than once with our many questions about destinations on the island. She has a graceful way of putting you at ease, and is very easy to talk with, but never intrusive or invasive.
Perfect island: The house is truly nestled in the heart of Plaka, a treasure to explore, and in my opinion, the most beautiful, scenic, friendly and welcoming of all Milos’ villages. If you stay here, you will find that Milos, the Anois house, and Eleni too, have nestled in your heart as well.

Advice to do: rent a car if you are staying for any time at all, and get a good map, fly in from Athens, eat at every taverna in Plaka at least once, go for the breakfast Eleni will bring to you, and go to Sarakiniko.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladysoul1...
London
1 review
“Excellent location and peaceful”
Reviewed 12 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We spent 2 nights at Anoi House and then a further 4 nights at a beach on the island. The short stay was perfect because you got a feel for living in a traditional village. We were recommended a lovely local restaurant for dinner and each night we wandered up to the top of the hill for the magnificent sunsets! The owner is delightful and very helpful indeed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Reviewed 23 October 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing