We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Lodging and Food!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Quaint, relaxing, well-furnished, great food, and a very pleasant stay. We stayed in one of the larger and more well-appointed cabins. This was our second stay and we will be back many more times. This area is kind of a motorcycle and sports-car mecca with the Tail of the Dragon, Fontana Hellbender, Blue Ridge Parkway, Smoky Mountain National Park, and Cherohala Skyway nearby. Further south, near the North Carolina/Georgia border are a number of scenic waterrfalls. This is great place to stay and the staff is highly professional.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank D Brooks H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea S, Public Relations Manager at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Brooks, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed your accommodations and look very much forward to welcoming you back in the future. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We planned to ride on the tail of the dragon on a rented sport bike and we did that and do much more!
I booked a stay at Tapoco Lodge and was impressed from beginning to end. The staff was so friendly and hospitable and our cabin was great. It fit us for sure and could have fit more. Had a hot tub too again weather didn't work out.
The property it sits on has so many hiking trails I wish we had better weather to explore.
We did sit by the river after a late diner at the restaurant. The sweet potato tacos were delicious. The lodge offers a bonfire too.
The river sounded so calm the first night and from the rain so loud and rough the next. I truly enjoyed our stay and will be coming back when my husband takes his car to the tail.
Book a stay you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Loveeddieable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea S, Public Relations Manager at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. It sounds like you had quite a fun filled escape despite the tricky weather. Safe travels and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We spent the first three nights of a two week vacation in the Smokies here at this lodge. The cabin we were in was the Alcoa, Cabin 1. Its part of a duplex as are most of the cabins. There is one cabin overlooking the river, but it's a bit more rustic and we preferred this one. The outdoor hot tub was lovely, but it does take up most of the small porch. All the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful at every turn and the food in the restaurant was terrific. Wonderful to sit by the river and enjoy a cold drink and clean air. It's located on the Tail of the Dragon road which is quite an experience to drive, but in the evenings it's so quiet and peaceful and we heard no road noise at all. We definitely would recommend this gorgeous little hideaway.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicosmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea S, Public Relations Manager at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the lodge and for your many recommendations. We wish you safe travels and hope to welcome you back when you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

In early June we went to go see the fire flies sync in Joyce Kilmer park. We book this place because a co-worker of mine suggested it. This place is nice and quiet and the pizza is the best. The rooms are real nice, but a litter overpriced in my opinion. But we are going back soon and I can't wait. The Lodge sits right by the river and they have chairs and a back deck to sit outside. Very cool place.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the river. And look for Red the dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelmS6320QD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea S, Public Relations Manager at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Michael, thank you for your thorough review. The fireflies in Joyce Kilmer are just magical. I'm certain you'll find the fall color just as exciting. Safe travels and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The Lodge has a calmness about it , and the setting takes Tranquility to the top . We found the food to be innovative , fresh , well seasoned and the decor Non Franchise feeling . We likely will return and stay several nights , perhaps in Spring and enjoy the fine motorcycling roads.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea S, Public Relations Manager at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Mike, thank you for your kind words and for choosing to dine with us at Tapoco Tavern. We look forward to welcoming you back for a full stay in the spring. Safe travels and we'll see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
10.7 km away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
528 reviews
18.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Robbinsville
664 reviews
36.9 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
96 reviews
31.2 km away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
37.8 km away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#3 of 6 in Murphy
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort

Address: 14981 Tapoco Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-6885
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Price Range: $172 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the banks of the world famous Cheoah River, the Historic Tapoco Lodge is home to 7 lodge rooms, 2 lodge suites, and 18 guest cabin rooms. With miles of private hiking trails, nightly campfires, and an onsite movie theater, you won't soon wish to leave. Our in-house Tapoco Tavern combines the very best of classic pizzeria and all American flavors with a riverside view and environment unmatched in all of Western Carolina. Order up a brick oven pizza for the family or indulge in the house favorite, "The Dam Drink" from our full-service bar. From steaks, burgers, salads, hummus, and local Carolina Mountain trout, there's something for everyone. Come explore Western Carolina and relax with us at the Historic Tapoco Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville
Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing