We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, if you need an inexpensive place to stay....”
Review of Phillips Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phillips Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The outside looked so cute!! Well, it pretty much stops there as it is a very basic place to stay. The motel rooms haven't been touched since 1978 and the mattress was rock hard. However, the sheets and towels were spotlessly clean. The room itself was clean and so was the bathroom but it did occasionally have a funky smell of sewer and bathroom cleaner.
It was nice to return in the evening however and sit by the outside firepits and chat with other guests.
Would I stay there again? I'm on the fence about it. Now I now what to expect, and for $70 a night it's the cheapest option, and walking distance to The Hub for breakfast and the Mexican place for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank poundsterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

Loved the Motel.. Quaint and comfortable.. VERY Motorcycle Friendly.. They have everything from Singles to Cabins. They took excellent care of me in 2014 after my Motorcycle Accident in 2014. Be Sure to Say Hi to mrs. Reba

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bubo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Stopped here 2 couple of years ago and nothing changed. Place very well maintained. Can sit outside around a fire in a group and talk about you ride. Covered parking for motorcycles. Different receptionist this time - a very sweet older lady. Reminds you of a favorite aunt.

2 blocks walk to several restaurants.

Bring your own booze. Place is in a dry county and cannot purchase an alcoholic beverage in the town.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank old_mountie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Great little motel - stayed there more than once - very biker friendly. Mrs. Phillips who owns it, immediately welcomes you and make you feel like you're one of the family (her kid - HA) - nothing fancy, just comfy and quirky clean rooms.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Roxanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

When we got there with no reservation after a week of sleeping on the ground and no showers, the owner said she was pretty much full up, but she had an efficiency with kitchen that she gave to us for the same price as a motel room. The furniture wasn't fancy, but it was very clean and the bed gave us one of the best night's sleep in a while. When we saw her a few days later at a diner, she remembered us and we had a great conversation. This is the second time they've been very kind when we most needed it, the first during an unexpected snowstorm a few years ago, and they're our go to place when we're in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SantelaPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
17.6 km away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
731 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Robbinsville
665 reviews
11.8 km away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
96 reviews
34.6 km away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
39.4 km away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phillips Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillips Motel

Address: 290 Main Street, Robbinsville, NC 28771
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Price Range: $52 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phillips Motel is a locally, family-owned motel located in the heart of the Smoky Mountains -- come see us! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing