We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
19
29
9
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
29
9
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbank tellerfire pitwalking distanceworked perfectlybed was comfortablethe dragonsit outsideclean roomsdry countystay there againcovered parkingbikessinkchannelssoaprefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Stopped here 2 couple of years ago and nothing changed. Place very well maintained. Can sit outside around a fire in a group and talk about you ride. Covered parking for motorcycles. Different receptionist this time - a very sweet older lady. Reminds you of a favorite aunt.

2 blocks walk to several restaurants.

Bring your own booze. Place is in a dry county and cannot purchase an alcoholic beverage in the town.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank old_mountie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Great little motel - stayed there more than once - very biker friendly. Mrs. Phillips who owns it, immediately welcomes you and make you feel like you're one of the family (her kid - HA) - nothing fancy, just comfy and quirky clean rooms.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Roxanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

When we got there with no reservation after a week of sleeping on the ground and no showers, the owner said she was pretty much full up, but she had an efficiency with kitchen that she gave to us for the same price as a motel room. The furniture wasn't fancy, but it was very clean and the bed gave us one of the best night's sleep in a while. When we saw her a few days later at a diner, she remembered us and we had a great conversation. This is the second time they've been very kind when we most needed it, the first during an unexpected snowstorm a few years ago, and they're our go to place when we're in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SantelaPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

The check-in area is in the style of a bank teller in a high-crime area. And there isn't always someone there, so sometimes you have to call the number, and sometimes they don't pick up. There's also a sign pointing to a bell, and another sign saying don't ring the bell. So it's a bit confusing. Especially when the sun is shining at certain angles, you can't even see inside at all.

The room was AMAZINGLY clean. Not a single bit of mildew or stains anywhere. The towels weren't in the least bit ratty. No breakfast here.

If you're a bit of a germaphobe and get a room with a kitchenette, bring your own sponge and soap.

The decor is very much in the theme of what-the-thrift-store-had. Like everyone says, it looks like a grandma's house. Nothing matches anything else. The outlets were in strange places. The one above the sink especially.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Luna-Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We evacuated from a hurricane and headed straight for the mountains. We picked this place partly because of the reviews but mostly because they had an "apartment" where me and each of my teenage kids could have our own beds. King for me (with wonderful memory foam topper), queen for the boy-child and twin for the girl-child. My kids tell me my bed was by far the best.

The apartment was essentially a unit that shared no walls with other guests. It had two bedrooms one bathroom and a main room that was the kitchen/living room. Had a sofa and oversize chair (i found them very uncomfortable), a table w/ 3 chairs a full-size fridge and full-size stove, dishes, pots & pans, everything you need to cook in and save money.

The hotel is popular with bikers so there's some roaring in and out in the morning and night but everyone is really friendly. The hotel is situated mostly on a side street and is just a couple blocks away from a Walgreens, Ingles (grocery store), Dollar General and a handful of restaurants that looked really cool.

There is wi-fi but it's not enough to do any serious internet activity. You'll be lucky if you can load a photo on Facebook. Do yourself a favor and just turn off your electronics and enjoy good quality time with whoever you're there with.

3 days was about as many nights as we needed in this location because it was a heckuva drive to some of the main destinations. The good day-trips include Yellow Creek Falls (about 15 minutes) and Joyce Kilmer Forest (about 40 minutes), "Tail of the Dragon" which is Hwy 129 is a beautiful twisty turny drive through the woods and mountain and Hwy 28 which is also very nice and takes you past the Fontana Dam and Fontana Resort. We did the Falls, 129, 28 and Fontana Dam in one very full day.

Room Tip: You have to call to make a reservations so when you call make sure you specify what you want, such as # of beds, non-smoking, etc.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myfloridalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews